Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop Guidance or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Men's Guide 7

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Men's Guide 7

RUN - Guidance The Guide 7 is the ultimate training partner, providing stability with flexibility in a lightweight package. PowerGrid provides responsive cushioning from heel to toe. A fully decoupled SRC crashpad minimizes impact, and the redesigned medial support system creates a smooth transition to midfoot. A flared forefoot design adds support during toe-off allowing the runner to spring forward efficiently and powerfully. Added flex grooves ensure the shoe moves with the runner with comfort and responsiveness. All hail Guide 7! Weight: 10.0oz./283g. (Size 9) Learn more about the Guide 7 See the Women's Guide 7
Overall Rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Guide 7
Review 1 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: San Francisco, CA
Age: 28
Size and Width purchased: 8.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Survived a San Francisco Half Marathon in Them

PostedApril 9, 2014
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I bought these shoes about a month ago hoping to wear them in in time for my half marathon this last sunday. Previously, I had been wearing the Omni Progrid series. I had the 9 and 11 models over the past few years. I was ready to buy the 12s but spoke to the employee handling my purchase and asked if there were any other Saucony shoes comparable to the Omni series. She quickly walked over to the wall and tossed me the Guides. She said it was lighter, less bulky, but took away some support in the heel. Being a runner who doesnt put much impact on his heels, I decided to try them out. I had the option to return them for Omni's if they didnt meet my expectations.
The past month, I had been training by running up Kearny Street all the way up to Coit Tower and back down. For those of you who don't live in the Bay Area, these streets are terribly steep and when running back down on these streets, you are forced to use your heels just to slow down your momentum. Needless to say, after 25 miles of climbing up to Coit Tower, running on the treadmill, and then 13.1 miles all across San Francisco that included 300 feet of elevation in half a mile up as well as downhill, it's safe to say that I will be dropping my lifetime loyalty to the Omni Series and forever stick with the Guide Series. There is just too much good about this shoe to nitpick about alittle extra heel support from the Omni. And they were the same price.
Great stability shoe, Saucony. You've helped me survived 2 half marathons, and upwards of ten 10k races on all sorts of terrain. Just try and make these shoes alittle less loud. I wish you could simplify the color schemes.
Review 2 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Austin, TX
Age: 35
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Excellent Shoe

PostedMarch 26, 2014
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I've been wearing Saucony Guides for about five years now. I had a gait analysis done and started off buying several different styles and brands of shoes. Over time, the Saucony shoes emerged as a better fit for my feet than any of the competitors.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: South Jersey
Age: 56
Size and Width purchased: 14/W
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Referred by my daughter and I love these shoes for comfort and support

PostedMarch 26, 2014
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Cross Training
I have very difficult foot problems and these shoes provide Excellent support and the shoes are extremely comfortable! I will be an ongoing consumer of the Saucony Brand.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Andover, MA
Age: 16
Size and Width purchased: 10.5M
Gender:Male

Minimal changes make for a great shoe

PostedMarch 22, 2014
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
In the past, I have had a pair of Guide 5's and two pairs of Guide 6's. The Guide 5's had a few issues with durability, but were still solid shoes. The two pairs of Guide 6's I had were very durable and were outstanding in every way; I could easily consider my second pair the best shoe I've ever had.
That said, it's fairly obvious that I had high expectations for the Guide 7. After a few weeks of running in them, it is safe to say that those expectations have been fulfilled. The durability on these shoes are fantastic and the ride is smooth and stable. The cushioning in the forefoot is very soft and comfortable and the heel has great support for my low-arched feet. I also love the improved flexibility in the forefoot; it really gives me an advantage when I'm doing speed work in this shoe.
However, I do have some issues with the shoe: the beveled heel is very steep in slope, which I am not a very big fan of. Also, the shoe's overall design is less attractive than that of the Guide 6, with the overlays looking as if they were placed randomly.
Overall, the shoe is very solid and, although it is not the perfect shoe, it is definitely a phenomenal shoe and I might buy them again when the time comes.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Fond du Lac, WI
Age: 25
Size and Width purchased: 9m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Guide 5 vs Guide 7

PostedMarch 16, 2014
I Run: For fun, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
Love recieving a fresh pair of running shoes. Used my Guide5 for everyday activity these were my first running shoes ever and the comfort of them corrected my back. The Guides made me realize what a true shoe does for your comfort and correction of back posture/pain. Needed a new pair of running shoes so I stuck with Saucony and got the Guide 7. The size didn't change from the guide 5 to 7 other then a slight norrowing tip that did not pinch my toes, this was not a problem. These shoes will balance you and set your direction.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great shoe

PostedMarch 15, 2014
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
Switched from wearing ASICS to the guide 6. Loved those shoes, and loved these. Great for distance training.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 36
Size and Width purchased: 11M
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

Almost a great shoe.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I love Saucony and have been running in Sauconys for years. I really really wanted to like the Guide 7's. The midsole and outsole are amazing and well thought-out. I simply cannot wear them though because of the overlays in the forefoot. Specifically the overlays over the little toes on the lateral side. Really uncomfortable and was causing blistering on my pinkie toe. I don't understand why they're still using thick sewn overlays in sensitive areas. Seriously, if the overlays in the forefoot were better designed and less intrusive, I'd still be running in these. Hopefully Saucony will go with the sock-like fit with their bigger models like a lot of the other companies are starting to go with. It's time. Please let the Guide 8's have flexfilm overlays and seamless fit. You'd have me in a second with those. Oh well.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Lombard, IL
Age: 43
Size and Width purchased: 14
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Good cushioning

PostedMarch 3, 2014
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Racing
Needed a shoe for eveyday running. Great cushion and fit. Laces are little too long, but I almost always cut them down and add lace locks.
Review 9 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Age: 16
Size and Width purchased: 11M, Medium
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To train for another sport
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
I just recently got the Guide 7, and it was very new to me. I usually only run in Kinvara's so it was definitely different, but I like them! They are very soft with cushioning! I've had knee problems in the past, and the first couple runs put a little pressure on them for me, but other than that they are VERY good!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Valparaiso, IN
Age: 20
Size and Width purchased: 9
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

Disappointed in changes from Guide 6 to Guide 7

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
Running collegiately, the Guide 6 was a great fit: a mix of flexibility, light weight, a bit of cushion, smooth ride, and a good amount of room in toe box. But after running in the Guide 7, I have found the shoe to be stiffer and the toe box is narrower, leaving me with no option other than turning to a different shoe. I now run in the Mirage, and it is a great shoe. If you like flexibility, light weight, some stability, and a smooth ride, the Mirage is the way to go.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: florida
Age: 51
Size and Width purchased: 9 1/2 medium
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

i use it for running

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
User submitted photo
I Run: To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
i been running for 2 yrs and i try different running shoes looking to fit my needs and i found them in saucony i ran my first 5k this year2014 and i did great a was soprise.
 
Products Related to My Review
Men's Guide 7
4.3 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Tallahassee Florida
Size and Width purchased: 8.5 M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great for problem feet

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I don't like running, have plantar fasciitis and I love these shoes! They are perfect for my foot and gate.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Nashville, TN
Age: 45
Size and Width purchased: 7M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Upgrade

PostedDecember 31, 2013
I Run: To train for another sport
I Use This Product For: Running
I've tried the Guide 5 and 6, along with the Mirage and Fastwitch. The Guide series is by far my favorite, and the 7 is a great upgrade, with improvements you can feel. I've set my fastest 5K and half in the Guide 7's on the first two runs, without feeling like I was pushing myself.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Greenwood, IN
Age: 50
Size and Width purchased: 10 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Comfortable and Versatile

PostedDecember 19, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I've been running with the Guide for the past year and just received the Guide 7. As expected, the fit is perfect and comfort is excellent. I have used the Guide to run in both olympic distance duathlons and half marathons and have had nothing but great success. I'm excited to try the Guide 7 this year as it seems to be a lighter shoe. The cushioning is outstanding and since I've switched to Saucony, my knee pain has completely resolved (of course I've switched to a stability model). I'll stick with Saucony as they seem to be the most comfortable running shoe for me.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Venice, Fl
Age: 68
Size and Width purchased: 10M
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

Disappointed in Guide 7

PostedDecember 5, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I purchased to replace both the Cortana and Triumph. Very disappointed, has thrown my running gait off and just doesn't seem to have much cushion. Toe box seems slightly more narrow than usual. I am generally very satisfied with Saucony but not this time. Too much money for a shoe that doesn't seem to live up to its billing.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Posted February 23, 2014
What? These shoes have a lot of cushion.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Oklahoma
Age: 56
Size and Width purchased: 13M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

A great shoe!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I recently purchased the Guide 7 and am impressed. I have been searching for a compromise between a shoe that gives me the stability and cushion I need without the added weight and "moon shoe" feel. I have tried a 12mm drop to a 4mm, and the Guide 7's 8mm drop is perfect for me.I have been suffering from tendonitis in my inside ankle and from the first run, the Guide 7 gave me relief. At first, the shoe felt "wide" in the forefoot, but after running awhile in them, it started to feel more natural. I am training for a half marathon in February and full marathon in April. I plan on ordering my second pair of Guide 7's right away so that I have them ready to go on race day.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Guide 7
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 27
Size and Width purchased: 9.5W
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great running shoe

PostedNovember 26, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
This running shoe is really great. I haven't purchased a lot of true performance running shoes, but I can say I will from here on out. It was great to get a quality pair of running shoes and they make a real difference.