Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop Men or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Men's Kinvara 4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Men's Kinvara 4

RUN - Natural / Neutral Building on its award winning pedigree, the Kinvara 4 is a perfect synthesis of celebrated design elements from previous versions. Kinvara loyalists will love the upgrade from ProGrid to PowerGrid in the heel landing zone for even smoother transitions and an improved overall ride (PowerGrid is a lighter yet more durable compound than ProGrid), in addition to the redesigned upper continuing to utilize FlexFilm for a lightweight, natural feel in the forefoot and toebox areas Weight: 7.7 oz. / 218 g. (size 9) See the Updates to the Kinvara 4 (PDF) See the Women's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating:
4.156 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
5
47 out of 59(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Kinvara 4
Review 1 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Baton Rouge, La
Age: 21
Size and Width purchased: 10.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Amazing shoes!

PostedApril 2, 2014
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I have now owned three pairs of the Kinvara 4's and I have no regrets with each purchase. The Kinvara 4's are lightweight, comfortable, and still give enough support for long races such as the marathon. I have raced every distance from 5k to the full marathon in the Kinvara 4's. Although I prefer more of a racing flat for any distance below a 15k, the Kinvara 4's are my Go-To shoe for the half marathon and full marathon. Simply put, these are amazing shoes!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Corpus Christi, Texas
Age: 35
Size and Width purchased: 10 M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Overall good shoe

PostedMarch 18, 2014
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Walking
First time buying Saucony tennis shoes. The shoe is light on my feet and comfortable. The shoe could use a little more cushion, but no complaints. So far so good. Hope to order
more soon.
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Sayreville,NJ
Age: 19
Size and Width purchased: 10m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

I will never wear another pair of running shoes!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
I've worn this shoe from the first kinvara and just love them, I run long distances and have worn them in every race and you can't go wrong. I work in a shoe department and I always recommend saucony to all the customers and they love them!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: IL, USA
Age: 20
Size and Width purchased: size 8.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

these shoes are my favorite saucony shoe so far

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
i've ran in Saucony shoes almost my whole running career. I made the decision to switch to the Kinvara looking for a shoe with a smaller drop in the heel, and wow was I impressed. the shoe feels fantastic, feels very stable, and breaths very well. despite how light these shoes are they give me phenomenal support. the only complaint that I have about this shoe is that the fabric in front of the shoe is very fragile. shortly after only a month of owning them the fabric started to tear at the big toe and pinky toe on both shoes. besides that ive never been happier in any other shoes. I would definitely recommend these shoes.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RoastAK
Alaska
recommend a shoe that starts to fray in one month?
Posted April 8, 2014
who would highly recommend an expensive shoe that had toe fabric starting to fray after one month?! That makes me question this review completely.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Ohio
Age: 42
Size and Width purchased: 11/med
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Can't go wrong with this shoe!!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
Great shoe, I run and cross train and it is holding up better than other shoes I've owned in the past.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width: 
Runs Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Chandler,az
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

Too Narrow!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
If you want numbness and severe burning pain in your toes and metatarsals, this is the shoe for you! Why did they mess with the earliest Kinvara, which was great?
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Drachten in The Netherlands
Age: 29
Size and Width purchased: 8 US
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Fast, comfort and stylish!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Yup these shoes are fast, comfortable and stylish.
I had Mizuno Prophecy 3, hmmmm looking impressive with a lot of features! But in real time (when using) the perform average.
So I put them aside.........and looking for some new real shoes.
After spending some time on internet I have founded these nice shoes. The price couldn't be the problem compare Mizuno Prophecy 3. After a quick look and I have ordered a pair.
Waauww I was impressed when opening the box, looks very nice and ofcourse they are light! I wear them right away and went for a quick run. Hmmmm these shoes fits good right away no need to have more miles to adapt them.......
I am wearing daily shoes in 7 US, but 8 US Kinvara fits me perfect. Only a little bit heel lifting, but not annoying.
With Kinvara I have the choice to land on heel/midfoot or forefoot. I have also Triumph 11, these shoes make me to land on heel :-(
Overall super shoes for super price and quality.
Can't wait to try the 5th version......
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Longmont, CO
Age: 32
Size and Width purchased: Men's 10, medium
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Wow one of my all time favorites

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
These are one of my all time favorite shoes. The upper is extremely comfortable. I have put over 130mi on them. They look to be holding up pretty well, both sole and upper (I'm 180lbs 6'1" tall). My feet are very picky and I get injured very easily if the shoe isn't right for me. Having said that, I never had any injuries while wearing the Kinvara 4.
Love the low 4mm drop and how light they are (I don't do well with bulky shoes). I technically over probate ever so slightly, and the geometry of the midsole was able to take care of that probation, even though this is technically a neutral shoe. I feel fast in them (all my PRs where obtained while wearing them, coincidence or not). In summary they are the closest thing to a perfect shoe for me.
Some people have commented that the toe box is narrower in the 4s than in the 3s, however that is just incorrect. One of the running online stores make a 3D analysis of shoes and they concluded that the toe room on the 3s and 4s are the same. Furthermore, I have tried a brand new Kinvara 3 and 4 side by side and they do feel pretty similar, identical in the toe box and forefoot (I still liked the 4s better, mostly due to a lower back in the Achilles' tendon region). Having said that, if I am to nit-pick, I do wish the toe box didn't taper as much and gave my toes a little extra room for them to splay. If I continue to be that nit picky guy and give my opinion on what could be improved, I would say noise reduction and maybe a little more cushioning, provided that we don't have to give too much up in terms of responsiveness. However, despite these things, these are my favorite shoes of all times. I like them so much, that my girl friend bought me, as requested, a second pair of these for my birthday. My first pair was the white/navy/orange and the one I got for my birthday is the blue/slime(green) one. I have to say, as a bonus to an amazing shoe, they look sick/awesome. If I had the money I would have every single color way (collect them all, like Pokemon :). I truly found my strong with the Saucony Kinvara 4. Thank you Saucony. Hopefully the 5 will be even better, as Saycony seem to always find a way to outdo themselves with every update.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
kai
Detroit, MI
overlays
Posted February 22, 2014
Get rid of the overlays on the forefoot.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Fort worth
Age: 45
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best shoe I've ever ran in

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
This is by far the best shoe that I've ever ran in. I've been running in the Kinvara since it's debut. Don't change a thing Saucony.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Customer avatar
No, I do not recommend this product.

Loose Fit, Weak Mesh

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
The fit of the Kinvara 2 and 3 was great. I bought a size 12 of each. Because of this, I also went with a size 12 for the Kinvara 4 but found the fit to not be as snug. My foot would actually slip within the shoe a little while running which caused blisters, something that never happened with the Kinvara 2 or 3. Maybe I should have went down a half a size for the Kinvara 4?
The mesh material on the Kinvara 4 also seems to be very week and prone to tearing. I now have a tear on both my left and right shoe just outside of my pinkie toe. I also had this problem with my Kinvara 2s. My Kinvara 3s have not ripped yet.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

Kinvara 4

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Racing
I just got these and have ran only 120 miles in them and they are already falling apart. There are holes in the front and the tread is gone. They were not worth buy.
Review 12 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Seattle, Wa
Age: 32
Size and Width purchased: 11.5 EE
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

Great shoe while it lasted

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I bought a pair of these and I was immediately impressed with the feel of them as well as the support the Kinvara offered. I loved these shoes so much at first. I liked them all the way up to the point when the material on the side wore off and the toe began to separate. I don't run that much, maybe 15-20 miles per week, but these shoes didn't last me more than two months. I would have really liked to love these shoes because of the features I already mentioned but the durability is sadly lacking so I can only give it mediocre rating. Saucony is (was?) a good name in the running world as well! Now I am trying to find a new favorite shoe and I am lost again. Well, such is life and happy running to you all!
Review 13 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Orlando, Fl
Age: 23
Size and Width purchased: 9 D (Medium)
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

A step back from the Kinvara 3

PostedDecember 14, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear
There's a number of similarities between the Kinvara 3 and the Kinvara 4. The ride provides a good balance of softness and responsiveness. The upper is still very breathable. The fit is still glove-like. The outsole is still just as durable as it was on the Kinvara 3.
The only positive change that I've found in the Kinvara 4 is that the upper no longer irritates the top of my pinky toe as it did in the Kinvara 3. It's definitely a more comfortable upper.
The durability of the upper, however, is disappointing. There was already a noticeable tear on the pinky toe area prior to logging in 45 miles in the shoe. The Kinvara 3 also had this problem, but I only encountered this after logging about 150 miles on them.
The Kinvara 4 doesn't feel as soft as the Kinvara 3. I'm not sure if it's due to the PowerGrid insert, but it definitely doesn't feel as comfortable than the Kinvara 3. I've had runs where my feet just felt like it beat up and just had to stop from the pain; an occurrence I've never experienced in the Kinvara 3.
The fit is also slightly narrower, but I personally have no problem with the change.
 
Products Related to My Review
Men's Virrata
4.4 out of 5(58)
 
 
 
Men's Kinvara 3
4.6 out of 5(133)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Smith
VA
Great at first; but!
Posted January 24, 2014
Buyer beware.
When I first got these shoes I was impressed with a couple of things,one they are air light paired with a comfortable ride which certainly helps on the longer runs. Two, they fit like a glove; better than any shoe I've ever ran in. So, needless to say I was jazzed about my purchase. The elation didn't last long. I'm three months in and have approx. 170-180 miles on this pair. The grips on the sole are falling off and the webbing especially on the interior of the show is very weak and has ripped in several places. I would recommend this show given a few design improvements (mostly durability). I expect to replace my shoes every 300 miles; these have not lived up to my expectations.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Jacko
New Hampshire
Posted December 26, 2013
Great shoe these are great for walking long distances. The weight makes my feet feel more comfortable. When these two pairs wear out I will definitely order two more. Wearing these shoes is like walking on air. Thanks Jack
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 14 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Reston, VA
Age: 42
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

Great shoe, one flaw - durability

PostedDecember 5, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
First, I have run in Kinvara 2s, then 3s and now the 4s. I run for fun and do some events, at least 1 marathon a year. My last, the MCM, I ran a 3:30.
I have no complaints about the 4s comfort or feel as I think they are very similar to the 3s. But the 4s have a flaw in the upper mesh area where your pinky toe is. My first pair developed a tear after about 50 miles. Since, I was getting closer to Marathon time, I bought another pair thinking it was just bad luck. Same tear after only 50 or so miles. I can't claim that it is unusable in this state because I still run in them, but I can't imagine that it would last much longer as the tear gets bigger each time out. I still have my version 3s, and although they are pretty worn (400+miles), there is no tear in the mesh. Same size for all the versions.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 43
Size and Width purchased: 10.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Light and Nuetral

PostedDecember 3, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I've run with the 1s 3s and now 4s. I've always liked the light yert stable feel of the Kinvara. The 4 sole feels a little softer, but that might also have something to do with my 3s having been through two running seasons, three marathons, one Ironman, etc. I mention this only as a testament to how durable these shoes can be for a 160lb. runner. One note: the 3s were starting to tear through at the pinky toe which is indicative of my only complaint about the Kinvaras, they are a little narrow for my foot, even the 4s.
Review 16 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Alpharetta, GA
Age: 32
Size and Width purchased: Big peach company
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Good shoe

PostedNovember 24, 2013
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear
I have knee issues since running long distances and these shoes are shorter on impact then any other I have worn so far. Great looking shoe and hoping I can find a shoe that will. E a good happy medium for me.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: West Lafayette, IN
Age: 20
Size and Width purchased: 8.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best shoe I've worn

PostedNovember 20, 2013
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
As an intercollegiate runner who suffers from knee pain, finding a good shoe is important to me. The Kinvara 4 is the best shoe I have used by far. The shoe has a minimal feeling without sacrificing cushioning. As such, I have experienced far less knee pain than in the past thanks to these shoes. I highly recommend these shoes for anyone that suffers from knee pain and anyone from a casual runner to an elite athlete. Happy running!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Weston, MO
Age: 18
Size and Width purchased: 12M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Fantastic!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Racing, Walking
Love these shoes! I'm a runner and this is my second pair of this type, I get the new versions of the Kinvara as soon as I can. Definitely recommend these for other runners!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Running Shoes

PostedNovember 12, 2013
I Run: To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
These are the only running shoes I buy now. They are the perfect mix between light weight shoes and supportive. They do tend to wear down, but not any faster other running shoes.
Review 20 for Men's Kinvara 4
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar

TIGHT

PostedOctober 29, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
WOW
What in the world did you do to the lace up on this shoe? Used to be my favorite......not sure about that any more.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>