Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop Women or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Women's Virrata

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Women's Virrata

RUN - Natural / Neutral Stripped down to strong. The Virrata is our lightest and most flexible training shoe and allows your foot to move naturally. We removed everything that isn't helping your run improve. What remains is a feather-light, ultra flexible shoe with advanced cushioning that promotes a powerful stride and allows your foot to move the way it was meant to. Built on a 0mm offset, this shoe lets your feet do the work while providing plenty of protection from the road. The breathable mesh upper makes the shoe incredible lightweight and quick-drying to run in wet weather conditions. Weight: 6.0oz. / 170 gm Learn more about the Virrata (PDF) See the Men's Virrata
Overall Rating:
4.66 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
49 out of 53(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Virrata
Review 1 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: Spangdahlem AB, Germany
Age: 40
Size and Width purchased: 8 1/2, medium
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

LOVE the arch support!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Walking
I have always had problems with my feet cramping & recently shin splints. My trainer recommended Sarconys & I've never been happier with a pair of running shoes! Since I've started running in them I have not had any problems with feet cramps & have yet to see any sign of a shin splints! Wish I knew how wonderful these were years ago! I will NEVER run in anything else again!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Burlington, Washington
Age: 14
Size and Width purchased: 8W
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Bouncy and light!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
These shoes are "the ones" I wear them for everyday running. I would not recommend them for racing anything under a 5k. I run 5-6 times a week and I average about 6 miles each time I run. And they have held up very well. I would definetly recommend!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Houghton, MI
Age: 23
Size and Width purchased: 10M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Broke down way too quickly

PostedDecember 8, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I run about 10-15 miles a week alternating between long runs and sprint workouts. At first this shoe was awesome. I loved that it was so light and I could feel how my foot was moving as I landed. But after 4 months, I noticed that the shoe wanted to slide inward on impact pushing my foot to the outside. I know I've never had an under-pronate stride before so this is quite a shock and my feet have paid for it in a stress fracture. Whether this is a manufacture error or just me changing my stride I'm not 100% sure but when I switched back to my old running shoes I noticed my feet didn't hurt as bad. Very disappointed with the Virrata.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Atlanta
Age: 32
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Short shelf life

PostedOctober 30, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training, Walking
When you first put these shoes on, it feels like you have finally found 'the ones'! I invested in Saucony as it is a trust-worthy brand that has not failed me before. I wanted to get 'real running shoes' so I decided to invest in pricier shoes (pricier = better, right?) and I chose the Virrata's.
I went running outside in them and my mile time had improved and I thought what a difference these make in my running!! Also, have worked out in them at the gym just a few times, mostly stairmaster, treadmill and some weight classes. All of this has been around 6-7 times total that I have worn the shoes. I noticed the sole's green rubber part (of the women's black) was starting to peel off and I can already see the inside black part covered by the green rubber sole!
I can't believe how quickly these shoes are wasting away! How low quality for such high price! They are super comfy but pass these up!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Atlanta
Age: 44
Size and Width purchased: 6.5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Must have shoe

PostedOctober 30, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
Every where I go someone asks me about this shoe. It's incredibly comfortable I wear it not only for running but for running around too. It's the perfect shoe
Review 6 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Somerville ma
Age: 41
Size and Width purchased: 9
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great minimal shoe with cushion feel.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
I've run 4 marathons now, my most recent in Virrata and I had my best race in these sneakers. All my other races I've had blisters on my toes and lost toenails, but not with Virratas! They are light weight and have a cushion feel . Great sneaker! I am hooked on them.
Review 7 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Richmond, VA
Age: 35
Size and Width purchased: 7.5
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Excellent shoe

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
This is the second pair of Virrata's I have purchased. I purchased out of want more than out of need. My first pair is still in great condition, I just love this shoe that much to get a second pair. I run 3-4 times a week and am currently training for a marathon. I have tried several shoes during my training and these are the ones I keep coming back to, these are going to be the ones to get me through 26.2 miles!! I love Saucony shoes!!! I have Kinvaras (2-4), Genesis, Fastwitch and the Virrata.....I even have other running shoes by other well known running companies but, I keep coming back to Saucony.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: vermont
Age: 62
Size and Width purchased: 7.5 medium
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

game changer

PostedAugust 28, 2013
I Run: For fun, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Awesome shoe....eased me into forefoot strike as soon as I started to run and it felt amazing. I will have to adjust as I've always been a heel runner and yes, your calves will feel it if you're not used to the zero drop. I actually don't even know what a zero drop is but that seems to be the tech definition of how this shoe is built. I just call it dreamy.....light, supportive of my high arch and simple. Colors are great too. I've been an intermittent runner all my life and never wore a shoe that promotes such a positive change in my running style.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Age: 38
Size and Width purchased: Size 9
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Lightweight and protective

PostedAugust 20, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I purchased these shoes because a kindly rep came to my running store and I was able to run in them. It was love at first 4-miles. I love them. They are so light and I barely know they are on when I am running. They feel like every good minimalist shoe should feet; the protect my feet and nothing more. I was surprised at the adjustment from 4 mm drop to 0 mm drop, definitely felt it in my calves, so if you are not already a 0 drop or at a 4, I would ease into these to prevent injury.
My only concern is that the logo on the inside is peeling off, I care not for the cosmetic issue but hope that it is not representative of the quality of the rest of the shoe. I really want these to last a good season or so.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Reading, PA
Age: 32
Size and Width purchased: 6 1/2
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great sneaker purchase

PostedAugust 12, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
These sneakers are perfect for running! I love the lightweight feel of them...the colors...and the fit. I just recently bought them so I'm hoping they last a long time. I usually run 2-3 miles three times a week. So we'll see how they hold up! I loved my other Saucony pair I bought last year so I'll continue buying this brand.
Review 11 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 28
Size and Width purchased: 8M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Light weight and love the style

PostedAugust 6, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
Like other reviews have said this shoe is so light weight, it makes a noticeable difference when running or walking. I love the color I got and will definitly be buying from Saucony again and again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Kansas
Age: 43
Size and Width purchased: 6 1/2 M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

This product has great features

PostedJuly 30, 2013
I Run: For fun, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
Training for my first marathon and ran a 15mile run in my new shoes. They worked great! Will be buying them again.
Review 13 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Washington, DC
Age: 30
Size and Width purchased: 7.5 M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Outer soles wear out quickly, but otherwise awesome

PostedJuly 27, 2013
I Run: To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
I agree with the other reviews: fits well out of the box, smooth ride, promotes better awareness of foot plant and stride.
I'm adding comments on durability/longevity of the shoes. The outer lugs wore down considerably after only 50 or so miles, so be careful if you tend to wear down the outer edges of your shoes. Fortunately, there wasn't much more degradation after that. I'm up to 220 miles and am trying to decide when to replace them. Not sure they would last as long as the typical 300-500 miles, which is probably why they're less expensive than other shoes. I intend to replace them with another pair and hope that the next version comes out with more durable bottoms.
Has anyone else worn theirs long enough to comment? I'm curious what others are experiencing throughout the life of the shoe. Seems like most of the reviews are people's early impressions, and few come back to add their post-honeymoon thoughts
I transitioned from mirage to virrata just fine. It wasn't as abrupt as I expected. I still use the mirages for easy recovery runs. The virratas hold up on long runs and speed work.
Another big pro: they dry so quickly because the upper is more breathable and doesn't have as much fluff as the mirage. My feet also feel much cooler.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
CLJ10
Boston, MA
Outer soles Do wear
Posted September 2, 2013
I run between 4-8 miles a day and I typically stick to the local track. After spending a few weeks down on the Cape and running on the road I noticed the tread on the outer part of the sole had significantly worn down! As another reviewer had commented the saucony symbol wore off probably a month after owning them, but that I didn't really care about.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Maeve
Western MA
Durability
Posted August 9, 2013
I've got about 350 miles on mine, they seem to be holding up well. I am small (5'1",110lb) and tend not to be super hard on my shoes but I have worn these on two long and treacherous trail races in addition to my regular runs and a couple of road races and have no complaints to date. Uppers seem to be holding up better than the Kinvara 3s that I wore before these.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Mylene
Montreal, Qc
Posted August 8, 2013
I agree with your comment on the wear to the outer part of the sole. I tend to land on the outer part of my midfoot and i also noticed that the lugs on this part wore out really quickly. i have about 300 km on my first pair and about 200 km on my second pair (which i tend to alternate) and despite this wear pattern, i have not noticed any change in comfort. I have a tendancy to being easily injured, i was running in kinvaras and switched to these. Since the switch, i have been injury-free. I agree that their longevity will probably be shorter than other shoes, but for me, they are totally worth it. Plus there are tons of amazing colors available!!
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 14 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Missouri
Age: 45
Size and Width purchased: 11M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

What I wanted

PostedJuly 24, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
This shoe is gorgeous and oh-so comfortable. I fell in love with the more minimalist style a couple of years ago, and these don't disappoint. The zero drop takes some getting used to, so ease into it.
Review 15 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Newnan, GA
Age: 35
Size and Width purchased: 10
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best shoe ever!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
I Use This Product For: Cross Training
I use these shoes primarily for step aerobics and kickboxing classes. These shoes (plus a high arch insole) have been single handedly responsible for eliminating all of my foot, ankle, knee, shin, and hip pain I was experiencing while wearing all other shoes. They are light as a feather, stylish, nice cushion, and overall very comfortable. I do a lot of lateral movement and jumping and they have held up well. This is my second pair of the Virrata and I will continue getting more of these as different colors become available! The only negatives I have noticed are the Saucony emblem on the inner side of one shoe peeled up soon after getting the shoe, and my big toe has begun wearing a hole in the inner fabric of my first pair, which I have been wearing for about 6 hours per week for a couple of months.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Age: 36
Size and Width purchased: 7.5
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Awesome shoe!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I've been running in Kinvaras (2 & 3) for the past couple years and have been happy with them. When the 4 came out, I was debating whether to stick with them or try out the Virrata -- I'm so glad I listened to the reviews and made the leap!
My first run in the Virratas was incredible -- I was keeping pace with the guys at the head of the pack on a group run! (something I've never done before) They feel light and springy and subtly promote a forefoot strike.
Overall, this is just an awesome shoe that feels great and performs great (and looks great too!). It's really perked up my daily run -- I will definitely be sticking with Virrata from now on.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: St Louis, MO
Age: 27
Size and Width purchased: 8.5 M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love these!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I was wearing the Hurricanes because a shoe store rep recommended I needed arch/pronation support. I have since switched to a forefoot strike running style and was looking for something lighter and a little closer to a minimalist shoe, but with enough padding for everyday training and long runs. The Virrata is exactly what I was looking for! They are very comfortable right out of the box. I did a 3 mile run the first day I got them and a 6 mile run a couple of days after and they were perfect.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Houston and Colorado
Size and Width purchased: 9
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love it!

PostedJune 28, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
Love this shoe! Was dedicated to the Kinvara 1 and 2 and needed a new shoe due to the 3 and 4 not working well for me. I have found a new love. Aches and pains I have felt in other shoes are gone. This shoe is flexible, light, and springy. For the weight and drop, it feels incredible. I will stock up on these! Excited about wearing them in my next marathon. Try them! And if you run trails, I recommend the Kinvara Trail.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Olathe, KS
Age: 41
Size and Width purchased: 10.5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love this shoe! Great for summer heat and a bit of cushion.

PostedJune 27, 2013
I Run: For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training, Walking
My barefoot running was taking a toll this summer as the sidewalks heated up. I wanted a shoe that would give me protection and some cushion, but not compromise the muscles I had been working on for months. So far so good! It is helping my heel injury heal as well.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Virrata
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: South Shore, MA
Size and Width purchased: 7.5
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Lightweight, strong and fun to look at

PostedJune 11, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Racing, Walking
These shoes are so well structured for such a lightweight running shoe. Just took them for my first run over the weekend and loved the feeling as they hit the pavement. Just the right amount of support and shock absorption, with nothing to weigh me down. Bravo!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>