Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop Women or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Women's Ride 5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Women's Ride 5

RUN – Neutral A full ounce (30gm) lighter than its predecessor, the Ride 5 is the most responsive version of this shoe to date. The heel edge is beveled (rounded) for a smoother transition from heel strike to midfoot, and more flex grooves have been carved into the forefoot design for better overall fl exibility. The heel-to-toe offset has been adjusted from 12mm to 8mm to promote a more balanced, efficient stride throughout the gait cycle, while the ProGrid™ technology (previously in heel only) has been extended to the entire foot bed for a more seamless feel. Weight 8.6oz./244 gm See the updates to the Ride 5 (PDF) See the Men's Ride 5
Overall Rating:
3.725 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
15
50 out of 77(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Ride 5
Review 1 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: McLean, VA
Age: 62
Size and Width purchased: 5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Color great and lightweight a plus

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training, Walking
I've worn Saucony's for years and am never disappointed!
Review 2 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Barcelona, Spain
Age: 52
Size and Width purchased: 6M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

This model is significantly different from the Ride 4

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Disappointment in the fit and lightness of this model compared to the Ride 4. The Ride 4 felt much sturdier for my long runs with a completely different forefoot, midsole and heel. The Ride 5 and 6 have gotten too light and have a straighter last. It doesn't resemble the Ride 4.
Review 3 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19
Size and Width purchased: 7M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

3rd pair, so something's working right

PostedDecember 19, 2013
I Run: To train for another sport
I Use This Product For: Running
Read the reviews of the ride 6 and decided to stick with the shoe I already love. The newer version may be new but NOT improved.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: Benton, AR
Age: 38
Size and Width purchased: 12M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love my Saucony!!!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I only run in 2 brands and Saucony is my preferred!!
Review 5 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Wisconsin
Age: 34
Size and Width purchased: 10N
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

My perfect running shoe

PostedOctober 29, 2013
I Run: For fun, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I am now on my third pair of these shoes and I may never switch. They are one of the few running shoes that come in narrow. They fit wonderfully and there isn't a "break in" period, I can throw them on an just run. The only downside is that the narrow shoes only come in one color, wish there was more variety.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: ottawa, canada
Size and Width purchased: 9.5, medium
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

feels wonderful!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
this is the second Pro Grid Ride I have purchased.
So far it feels wonderful and just what I wanted.
Review 7 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Exeter, NH
Age: 65
Size and Width purchased: 8.5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe

PostedOctober 2, 2013
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
Just bought this style for the first time. Have been wearing Saucony sneakers for a long time. Always change my sneakers every 6 months as I wear them daily. These are light weight and feel good on my feet.
Review 8 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Boston, MA
Age: 40
Size and Width purchased: 10.5
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Agreeing with the naysayers

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Loyal Saucony owner for over 10 years. Loved my Ride 4s. Ran short runs and half marathons in them. Never blistered, never had knee, heel, or hip pain. Blew out my last pair of 4s and needed new ones. I had read some Ride 5 reviews and knew they had been restyled and I would have to try them on. I didn't love them but I tried on other brands and styles and the Ride 5s still seemed better. I had to go up yet another half size as this shoe seemed to be smaller. Came home with 2 pairs as I usually do, and have been disappointed. I swap out the standard insoles with Powersteps due to a past injury, so the shoe's normal cushioning (good or bad) is irrelevant to me. These shoes have caused hot spots and callouses I have never had before. My heel slips. The Saucony logo on the side of the shoe has been moved forward and pinches right at the widest part of my foot and causes such pain and aching that I am limited to short runs... Just because of where the stupid logo sits. Seriously... Who thought that was a good decision? The only thing I like about this shoe is the lighter weight. Disappointed and in search of a new shoe.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 60
Size and Width purchased: 10,5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Has the sole changed?

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
Been wearing these for about ten years now, and I couldn't be happier with the fit and comfort. However, the pair I bought in March wore through the sole in about three months. Returned them to the merchant for another pair and the second pair has almost worn through. I walk about 3-4 miles a day, work out on the elliptical three times a week.,,changed previous pairs yearly. Every three months seems to be a bit excessive. Other than that, I love these!
Review 10 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Virginia
Age: 31
Size and Width purchased: 5.5
Gender:Female

My feet couldn't be happier!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I've recently started running in these shoes, and so far I can sum up my experience in one word: WOW.
They run true to size, they have just enough cushioning without feeling too squishy, they're nice and light, and the hot pink color appeals to my flashy footwear side.
I'm a neutral runner, but tend to start over pronating slightly when I start to get tired on my long runs, and these shoes have just the right amount of stability to keep me neutral, while also providing enough comfort and support to keep my feet from getting tired like they did in my previous brand of running shoes.
Bottom line, I would definitely recommend these to anyone looking for a comfortable trainer to wear during longer, slower paced runs (I'm marathon training and found exactly what I was looking for in this shoe). And secondly, if my husband didn't already think I had too many shoes, I'd go ahead and buy another pair to have on hand for when my current pair wears out!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Age: 17
Size and Width purchased: 5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great shoes!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Racing, Running
I always wear a 5 in women's and this shoe is true to that size. The shoes are the most comfortable ones I have tried on. I have been running for just over a month and these are my first pair or running shoes, and I'm so glad I chose them! I love the color, fit, and most of all the support and comfort. Definitely recommend these shoes!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Sikeston, MO
Age: 42
Size and Width purchased: 7 1/2/ B
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great pair of running shoes!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
Durable and comfortable! This is my third pair of the Saucony Ride 5. In the past, when running I was prone to knee pain and shin splints. Since purchasing Saucony's, I don't have that problem any longer. Highly recommend!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Lake Zurich, IL
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
This is my second pair of these; I have a really hard time finding a shoe that doesn't hurt my foot and this one is great. I'm sad they're discontinuing it; hoping the ride 6 is just as good!
I'd also like to add that the shoes were ordered and shipping lightning fast!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: indiana
Age: 34
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

love bright colors and fit of this shoe!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
I Run: To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Love the bright colors on this shoe! As always this saucony has not let me down. I hope they keep making this shoe just the way it is!
Review 15 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Jacksonville, NC
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 7.5 (AA) Narrow
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Slight Problem

PostedAugust 6, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I love the fit and comfort of this shoe, plus the fact that it is so lightweight is a bonus! When I return to running I believe these shoes will be very comfortable if the "slight problem" resolves itself. I think that my "slight problem" really pertains to "my" pair of shoes. The edges of the tongue on the Left shoe rolls under and will not stay centered. This makes for a slightly uncomfortable fit. The Right shoe fits great. I'm hoping the left tongue will flatten out after some wearing, as I could not use these shoes to run in with this irritation. We'll see!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Eastern NC
Age: 35
Size and Width purchased: 6.5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

So great I ordered 2 pairs

PostedAugust 6, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
These are great shoes! I bought a pair 4 months ago and run about 4 days a week. They have held up great and my feet are never sore. I ordered 2 pair just to ensure I have an extra pair for later.
Review 17 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: College Station, TX
Age: 19
Size and Width purchased: 7.5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best Shoe I have EVER owned!

PostedJune 7, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Racing, Running
This was my first time getting fitted for a running shoe, but I have always considered myself a bit of a runner. I traditionally wore a lot of minimalist type Nikes and just assumed running through a little pain was all part of it. Since getting these shoes I have not had an ache yet and they are so enjoyable I have doubled my daily distance! They are like running on air! I definitely recommend them! My only complaint is the design. Hopefully, they have cuter colors when I wear these babies out and get another pair.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 16
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Favorite shoes for high mileage!

PostedMay 31, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
I have had 2 pairs of the ride 5 and I am ready to get a 3rd pair. I have run a lot of high mileage in these shoes and love them. They provide a nice amount of cushion to the bottom of the foot that never seems to decrease even after the couple hundred miles I have run in each pair. I like the 8mm toe to heel rise I think it is the prefect amount for high mileage to keep your gate a forefoot strike. It was not too much that the shoes felt bulky or like your feet can't move freely. It also was not too little. I'd recommend replacing these shoes after you've run a couple hundred miles, as all the tread starts to wear away. Ive had a great experiance in these shoes while running in a highly competitive cross country program with high mileage and a copetitve track season. I started high mileage training for the first time in my first pair of these shoes and never got any injuries. These are amazing shoes. Not only me ut many runners on my team love these shoes and run in them all the time. I'd highly recommend these shoes to anyone. My only problem is that there arent a ton of fun, bright color schemes for this style shoe.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Va
Age: 27
Size and Width purchased: 8
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Loved them til they broke!

PostedMay 21, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Walking
This was my first experience with buying a full priced running shoe after being fitted at a running store. I was very excited to have my new shoes and I worked out with them 4-5 times a week (mostly elliptical). After just 5 weeks of wear the back heel on the left shoe collapsed making it uncomfortable to wear and I also found that these shoes increased my corn problems a lot! I wanted to love these shoes because they were so comfortable at first, but was very unhappy with the quality I got for the price.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Ride 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoes

PostedMay 17, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
Bought them for my sister who walks a lot. She is so happy with them, she says "it's like walking on butter". Service was great and delivery, fast. Very pleased!
1 2 3 4 Next>>