Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Women's Kinvara 3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Women's Kinvara 3

RUN - Natural / Neutral So much technology, so little shoe. We've redesigned the look of our most popular shoe, but kept the fit, feel and ride consistent with its predecessor. The upper now features FlexFilm™, a strong yet pliable material innovation that adapts to your foot and provides a lightweight, seamless feel. Inside the shoe, anatomically-contoured memory foam heel pods secure a perfect fit. In the midsole, ProGrid™ technology provides a unique blend of responsiveness and cushion, and the heel crashpad has been beveled for an even smoother ride as the runner transitions through the gait cycle. Finally, after examining wear patterns on hundreds of test shoes, the outsole was upgraded through the addition of placements of carbon rubber for enhanced durability. Weight: 6.7 oz. / 190 gm. See the updates to the Kinvara 3 (PDF) See the Men's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating:
4.07 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(128 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
10
93 out of 115(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Kinvara 3
Review 1 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Scotland
Age: 45
Size and Width purchased: 6m
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Saucony kinvara 3

PostedAugust 15, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Worst running shoes I have had, not comfy for long distance and both shoes are split within 3 months of use, will go back to Ascics next pair
Review 2 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Lexington KY
Age: 37
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Not psyched on this one

PostedAugust 14, 2013
I Run: Competitively, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
The first Kinvaras were OK (great for short runs, but my calves ached) and then they became lighter - which means less cushion and more stress on the feet and legs. I put in a mile with these, boxed them up, and hauled them back to the store. I do have to say they have the best grip of the pavement of any shoe I've worn in my life.
Review 3 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Customer avatar
Age: 33
Size and Width purchased: 9.5
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Not what I expected

PostedAugust 5, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
I love my previous Saucony shoes - I tell everyone who is looking for new running shoes to try Saucony because they are the best shoes I have ever owned. Last year I broke down and tried a $140 pair of Asics, which are nice, but I prefer my Saucony so when I needed a new pair this year I tried the Kinvara because I thought they sounded perfect for me. They are terrible, no cushion or support and ran a hair big. I am returning them today and I already ordered a different pair/style of Saucony's which are much more like my shoes of the past. The Kinvara seemed cheap.
Review 4 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: Toronto, Ontario
Age: 33
Size and Width purchased: 8.5M
Gender:Female

Disappointed

PostedJune 7, 2013
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
After wearing the Kinvara 3 shoes, I got blisters on my ankles and they were very sore. I wore them several times with different socks and it still created the chafing. Even walking in them hurts because the top part of the shoe keeps digging into my ankle. I feel disappointed that I cannot wear these shoes.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Trim the high heel cup off!
Posted August 30, 2013
I trimmed about a cm off the back with good scissors and sealed the cut with colored duct tape. I've had to do this with various shoes over the years because of the shape of my ankles, I guess. You're right, this heel cup is particularly high. My repair is holding up great and the shoes are now amazing.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Minneapolis, MN
Size and Width purchased: 7
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

stiff high heel

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
Unlike the previous Kinvara versions, the top of the heel feels higher and much stiffer and digs into the achilles tendon when running. Hopefully this will be corrected for future versions, as this is normally a great shoe.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: Philly, PA
Age: 26
Size and Width purchased: 7
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

So disappointed!!!

PostedNovember 3, 2012
I Run: To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I've been wearing Kinvaras since their inception (5 pairs of 1s - actually my fav, 5 pairs of 2s - a close second). My favorite part about the Kinvara is that I've always been able to wear them out of the box with no problems - even if I had a high mileage run that day. I bought the 3s three weeks out from this season's marathon and boy was I in for a surprise!
First, as many have mentioned, the heel rubs like crazy. Even in my best socks and low mileage I came home with bloody blistered ankles. Unacceptable!
Secondly, the sole must be stiffer than the 1s or 2s. I went from a natural soft forefoot stride to feeling like I was plodding on concrete slabs on my midfoot to heel. I could even hear a difference in my foot strike (what was mostly silent is now thud-thud).
Lastly, the stiff sole made my arches cramp, which started bugging an old calf issue I haven't had since I left traditional running shoes for the Kinvara 1& 2.
Needless to say, I'm totally bummed. I ended up running the marathon in my old pair of K2s with about 300 miles on them. They just barely held out. I guess I'll have to start the search for a new brand for the next marathon...
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
K2 lover
South Carolina
Same results as "So Disappointed"
Posted November 13, 2012
Thought it was just me and my feet, glad to see that others my same size also had the same problems with Kinvara 3. Kinvara 3 was a waste of $, hope I have better results with Cortana.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Wooster, Ohio
Age: 28
Size and Width purchased: women's 9
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

rubs against the back of my foot

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
The back of the shoe seems to be higher than the kinvara 2. It constantly rubs against the back of my ankle. I have to wear higher socks or tape the back of my ankle. I am so disappointed. I've had three pairs of the kinvara 2 and absolutely loved them. I love the colors of the kinvara 3 but I wish you would've left the design the same as the 2's.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: TN
Size and Width purchased: 8.5M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Not durable for forefoot strikers

PostedAugust 29, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I was disappointed with the Kinvara 3. I hadn't even gotten 50 miles out of them and the sole was (what I quickly came to refer to as) "shredded". I'm a forefoot striker, and since there is no rubber on the the lateral forefoot where some of my impact is absorbed, the road just tore up the softer sole material. Even the rubber triangles wore down surprisingly quickly though.
That said, comfort-wise they were very nice. I could have enjoyed the shoe very much if they were more durable. They were light and had a good amount of cushioning. While I wouldn't recommend them for a forefoot striker, I could see them working out well for heel strikers or those looking to transition. I'm sad these didn't work out for me- the neon yellow and pink were fun!
Review 9 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Muskego, WI
Age: 37
Size and Width purchased: 9.5M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Heel chafing!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I was very excited to try the new Kinvara 3's, Unfortunately, I experienced the heel chafing that others have noted, and the toe box seems more narrow than the 2's (foot numbness that I never had before with the 2's). I tried using socks with higher ankle coverage, and even tried using Sport Shield to see if it prevented the heel chafing and blisters. It didn't. I am stocking up on Kinvara 2's until the next version comes out. Very disappointed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Erica B
Los Gatos, Ca
kInvara 3
Posted August 20, 2012
Unfortunately, my heel chafing was more like two gashes on my Achilles during one and only 6 mile hilly training run - despite higher socks, and blister 2nd skin covers. So I have switched back to the Kinvara 2's until the heel guard is re-worked. The 2's are perfect in the heel, I am not sure why the re-design. Bummer, otherwise the school felt great and I will continue to be a fan of Saucony 2 series. Please make Kinvara 4's for all of us with the same complaint!
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Width: 
Runs Narrow
Customer avatar

too narrow

PostedApril 26, 2012
Where are the other width options? I thought you were going to offer wider ones. These shoes are still too narrow!
1 of 14 found this review helpful.
Read comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
AC
Boston, MA
Great running shoe, runs a bit small
Posted July 19, 2012
I think I should have ordered 8.5 instead of 8... like the shoe , but feel maybe Kinvara 2 felt a little lighter (is it just me?)
although I did not like so much space above my foot in the Kinvara 2 which is less an issue with the version 3...
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
juice
mn
The shoes do come in wide
Posted June 22, 2012
I wear a wide and these worked great for my feet. I would suggest that you try an additional 1/2 size up in wide and see if that works for you.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
ChariD
Orlando, FL
Review Police?
Posted June 5, 2012
Reviewers post their opinions on a product. We might not like their opinions, but they're allowed to make them. Jumping to assumptions and then attacking a reviewer isn't going to change their opinion; it just makes you look silly.
More than likely, the reviewer did try the shoe on and give it a try; otherwise, how would she know it wasn't wide enough? I have wide feet; thanks to her review, I will not order these online and will instead go to a running store to try them on beforehand.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
RunKerryRun
Chicago, IL
Dont' Rate if You Don't Wear It
Posted April 28, 2012
I find it disappointing that someone would post a one-star review of this shoe because Saucony has not produced it in the width of your foot. Since your size is unavailable, I imagine that you probably have not worn the shoe for any meaningful period of time. That being said, you shouldn't be reviewing the product. If you're upset that your size isn't available, contact Saucony directly. Don't skew the rating of a great product based upon insufficient information.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (4)
Read comments (4)
Review 11 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Dayton ohio
Age: 31
Size and Width purchased: 8m
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Poorly sewn-returned product

PostedJune 17, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
Ordered this shoe in purple/pink/white
Returned item due to badly sewn. When I put them on, one shoe was different than the other as the top (where tongue sewn to base of lace area) was sloppy and caused the top (toe area) of shoe to droop inward/pucker in an unfavorable way. Causing the shoe to appear unattractive. Also. Upon returning item...shipping cost will be deducted from my refund as they do not do replacements, I would have to order again. Not ordering again, no matter how cute I think they are.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: St. Paul, N
Age: 45
Size and Width purchased: 8.5W, medium width
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Kinvara 2 Fan Disappointed with Kinvara 3

PostedApril 18, 2013
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
In the past nine months I've gone through three pairs of Kinvara 2 shoes for work (it's a retail environment, cement floors, constantly on feet, lots of running/walking etc).
I loved Kinvara 2 so erroneously assumend I'd feel the same way about Kinvara 3. I bought two pairs and am very disappointed. The toe box is much narrower and the length is shorter (I ordered 1/2 size larger which is what worked in Kinvara 2 and should have ordered a whole size larger for Kinvara 3).
Even worse is that the "cush" factor is much less. After wearing them for just 4-5 hours my feet hurt -- this NEVER happened with the Kinvara 2. They are also not as breathable as their previous model. Sigh.
So I am disappointed and out of quite a bit of money for shoes that do not work for me. Even worse though is that because of the Kinvara 3 I am no longer a loyal Saucony customer. I think I'm going back to Addidas.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Northern California
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 8M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Tread wearing thin after less than 100 miles

PostedMarch 3, 2013
User submitted photo
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I love the fit and how lightweight these shoes are. Unfortunately, I wasn't told that these are "racing flats" and not intended for daily training runs. I run about 15 miles/week on trails and pavement, and the outer tread is clearly wearing out already. For $100, I need shoes to last me more than a couple months.
If you're only going to wear these on race day, they may be fine, but don't count on them to last you more than 4 marathons.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
runningpattie
Melbourne Australia
marathon
Posted March 21, 2013
When you buy a light weight running shoe you do not expect it to last as long as the heavier shoes. If you are training in them as well as running 4 marathons I would think that was an amazing time for Kinvara to be supportive and still have great cushioning. I have just bought my second pair and love them. I have trained in them and run one marathon with no injuries. I am also an oldy 72yrs.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: Washington, DC
Age: 29
Size and Width purchased: 8
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Not the same as it used to be

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I bought a pair of Kinvaras a couple years ago and loved them. They fit like a glove, and I loved how light they felt. I wore them out, so when it was time to buy new shoes, I immediately -- and excitedly -- ordered the new Kinvaras (same size I had before), only to find they are too tight in the heel and wider than my other ones. I have huge blisters on my heels because the back of the shoes are cutting into my heels, and I also feel that the area where the laces are is too wide and the laces themselves are too short, so they don't lace up snugly enough. I'm really disappointed.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Michigan
Size and Width purchased: 7W, normal width
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Disappointment.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I have been wearing Sauconys since I began running several years ago, and I can't believe how disappointed I am in the Kinvara 3's. I've been wearing Kinvaras for quite some time, after deciding I liked the lighter shoe. I'm really bummed that the heel comes up into the most sensitive part of my heel; it rubs terribly. I've NEVER had a problem with having to "break in" a Kinvara. As a long-time lover of all things Saucony, I'm begging you to reduce the heel back where it was in the next installment!! These shoes are painful. Stiffer than I've ever felt a Kinvara... I've typically found them to fit my feet quickly and comfortably.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Oregon
unconfortable
Posted December 30, 2012
I also love Kinvara and have been wearing them for years, I got a pair of Kinvara 3's for Christmas and my heels are all torn apart from only a mile run. The heel needs to be taken back down to it's original size.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Age: 44
Size and Width purchased: Size 9
Gender:Female

disappointed with the heel as well !!!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
I Run: To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
It took me nearly a year to find the perfect running shoe for my feet - I found it with the Kinvara 2 just in time for them to be discontinued. I am relieved to see that I am not the only one feeling the pain literally in the heel area with the Kinvara 3. They rubbed my feet raw within a very short distance. I also experienced the numbness another poster mentioned. I am so bummed and am now desperately trying to find some additional Kinvara 2's which is proving difficult. Saucony I hope you are taking these comments into consideration for the Kinvara 4 otherwise I'm on the hunt again for the perfect running shoe :(
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Runninggirl
Baltimore, MD
Not better than the Kinvara 2!
Posted October 27, 2012
I feel the exact same way Disneyrunner. I hope the 4 is more like the 2. I can't find a pair of Kinvara 2 anywhere!
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 8 Women's
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

What happened?

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
I own 4 pairs of Kinvara2 that I have been rotating through. When the Kin3 came out, I bought a pair to introduce to the mix. The shoe has changed and I can't run in it. I have tried, believe me. My ankles are killing me. It has lost the smooth ride that the Kin2 had. When I run in my Kin2, I hear barely anything when my foot hits the ground. In the 3, it's more like a very loud flat footed sound. I even ran around the block with one Kin2 and one Kin3 on and I couldn't believe the difference. I am so disappointed as I love the style of it but when a shoe doesn't cut it performance wise, no amount of aesthetics can save it.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Bri
Philly, PA
Posted November 3, 2012
I had the same problem! So bummed!!
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: austin
Age: 42
Size and Width purchased: 7.5M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Great fun colors

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
I Run: For fun
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
Shoe is light and attractive. Loved the Kinvara 2's and eagerly bought the 3's. I've had many comments related to the styling (pink /yellow) however they are too stiff and high in the back and they cut into the backs of my heels. Tried taller socks, the only thing that helps is to cover my heels with band-aids. Shouldn't have to do this with $100 shoes. I hope the next generation rolls back to the Kinvara 2 design.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Chicago
Age: 45
Size and Width purchased: 8.5
Gender:Female

Different Fit

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
When the Kinvara first hit the scene I was in love with this shoe! My foot could finally run naturally but still have the cushioning it needed for long miles. I ran 3 marathons and a few halfs in the Kinvara and then Kinvara 2. But the Kinvara 3 is KILLING me! These feel like the Mirage I had tried a year ago -- which have way too much stability for me. I am sure the Kinvara 3 is still a good shoe for many, but I can no longer wear it (even 3 miles had my legs and ankles sore for days afterwards) They will have to be returned, and I am now back to the drawing board. So sad!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Kinvara 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: California
Age: 21
Size and Width purchased: 7.5
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

why the terrible colors!?!

PostedJune 4, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Walking
best shoe, but all these new colors are terrible! bring back the original ones!
0 of 14 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next>>