Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Women's Hurricane 14

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Women's Hurricane 14

RUN - Stability The Hurricane 14 takes premium stability and cushioning to another level with PowerGrid™ , Sauc-Fit, IBR+ and a more efficient transition through the gait cycle. Weight: 9.7oz. / 275 gm. See the updates to the Hurricane 14 (PDF) See the Men's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating:
3.746 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
6
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
10
45 out of 65(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Hurricane 14
Review 21 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: ct
Age: 58
Size and Width purchased: 9 1/2 M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Heel Pain :(

PostedNovember 13, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I'm disappointed as within 2 runs of using these shoes my heel pain returned. I was so happy with the Hurricane 9; my last running shoes and hoped these would be as great. But alas, I am not sure what to do now.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lg
Posted December 30, 2012
Saucony:
Please do not stop making this model w/ the lower heel drop!!
I have no more chronic calf tightness due to all shoes being made with a heel to high which puts unnatural stress on the calves.
Please do not stop making this option available to loyal saucony customers who like the lower heel drop. Yes the first couple runs I felt it more in my heels-to be exptected- but now I have run calf tightness free for weeks.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 22 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Quincy
Age: 24
Size and Width purchased: 8.5
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Stability/Support but wears out around 200 miles

PostedNovember 12, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Overall I really like these shoes. They have great support and helped tremendously with over pronation. These shoes are also great if you have a mid-foot strike since the heal is less chunky than most stability shoes. My only complaint is that both pairs i have purchased (one standard, one pink) both wore holes in the toe box at around 200miles. I run mostly on the road so that might have something to do with the quick wear time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 75
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

This was exactly what I was looking for.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
This was my first online purchase through Saucony.
I have been wearing the women's hurricane for years, purchased in a store specializing in running shoes and was
currious to see if it came in any color other than white. I went
online, found your website, saw it black/purple trim, ordered
it on a Sunday and it arrived on Tuesday. I was thrilled.
I have a hammer toe and find this to be a very comfortable
and durable shoe. I usually walk a minimum of 2 miles per day.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Fort Collins, Colorado
Age: 48
Size and Width purchased: 10.5 M
Miles Per Week in this Product:40+
No, I do not recommend this product.

Have you ruined the Hurricane??

PostedNovember 2, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Saucony, I have worn your Hurricanes almost since they didn't even have numbers!!! WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO THIS SHOE? They were always great for me, for literally over a decade, but the 14 is HORRIBLE. Plantar fas (which was gone for over 2 years) was back within the first 3 miles, and I even started having knee pain that I've NEVER had! I am distraught....
Hurricanes were always worth every penny, and they were never on sale for a reason: because they WERE the best shoe on the market. Now, I may have to leave Saucony.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
I'm a Saucony girl, but what have you done?
Posted November 6, 2012
I have worn Saucony's for most of my 30 years as an avid runner. Why, oh why did you change them? I have the Hurricaine 14 and they just don't feel right! I pronate when I run and these have not been kind to me, I have only been wearing them about one month and have to go today to get another sneaker.. my loyalty may end today???
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 25 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 32
Size and Width purchased: 9/W
Gender:Female
Miles Per Week in this Product:15-25
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great sneaker, miss the arch lock...

PostedNovember 1, 2012
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Cross Training, Walking
This is still the best sneaker I can find especially for my wide foot, but I miss the arch support of the Hurricane 13. Please bring that back in next year's model! More color choices in wide width would be great too!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: ar
Age: 59
Size and Width purchased: m
Miles Per Week in this Product:40+
No, I do not recommend this product.

I loved the colors

PostedOctober 26, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Cross Training
Sorry, I had to return the shoe because the arch lock was not in the 14 as has been in the other. This is a feature I really need. Otherwise the shoe would have been good.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
Gender:Female
Miles Per Week in this Product:5-15
Yes, I recommend this product.

Still a great shoe!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
I wore the Saucony Hurricane years ago and then was told I should use a motion control shoe. Lately motion control seems like too much, so I switched back to the Hurricane. Great shoe. Still has a wide toe box, narrow heel (so it doesn't slip off) and great support. I can't compare it to recent models but I'm glad I tried it out again.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Granville Ohio
Age: 54
Size and Width purchased: 9.5
Gender:Female
Miles Per Week in this Product:15-25
Yes, I recommend this product.

This shoe is great for walking.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
This is my first pair of Hurricanes, though I have worn Sauconys for several years. They are so comfortable that I have been wearing them for more than just my 3 mile daily walk. In fact, I hate to take them off! They offer the support and comfort I need.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Michigan
Age: 39
Size and Width purchased: 9.5
Gender:Female
Miles Per Week in this Product:25-40
No, I do not recommend this product.

Different shoe than the 13

PostedOctober 4, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I've run in the hurricane for 4 years- mostly 1/2 to marathon distances and have moderate/severe pronation and need stability. The 14 version just didn't work for me- I developed foot and knee pain after running a week or so in them - I felt a difference on the first run. Hope the next version is more like the 13 or I will have to try a new brand. I loved the old hurricanes:/. These will now be used in the gym- they are definitely a lighter shoe if that's what you are looking for, and if you don't need a lot of stability, arch support, padding they could be a solid running shoe.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Cana, Va
Age: 62
Size and Width purchased: 8.5 M
Gender:Female
Miles Per Week in this Product:5-15
Yes, I recommend this product.

This product is a great running or walking shoe.

PostedOctober 1, 2012
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
I have been wearing Saucony shoes for a year or so and have found that this pair of shoes are the "cream of the crop". They are wonderful.
Review 31 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Holden Beach, NC
Age: 55
Size and Width purchased: 9W
Gender:Female
Miles Per Week in this Product:40+
Yes, I recommend this product.

Sooooo comfortable

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Walking
From the first time I slipped these on, they felt like a pair of broken-in sneakers!!! I have always worn Saucony brand and tried this model and I am now hooked on these.I am walking on concrete and wood decks all day long for my pool business and these sneakers prove to be the best. I highly recommend these sneakers to anyone that wants stability and comfort.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Titusville, FL
Age: 52
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Female
Miles Per Week in this Product:25-40
No, I do not recommend this product.

Cant Handle the 12mm to 8mm drop

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I have been loyal to Saucony and the Hurricanes for 8 years, but after the 7's I had alot of problems until the 13's. I am a heavier runner and that is the reason I need stability shoes. Although I didnt really mind the drop to 8mm to try them, my feet and ankles sure did, with awful pain in ankles on just a 3 mile run and numbness in toes and plantar coming back after 10 miles. I have given them three weeks, but no improvement. With such radical changes in my short run shoes (OMNIs) and these, and with a half marathon 5 weeks away, I am afraid I will have to leave Saucony.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Overall a great shoe

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
I have tried many different shoes, I have real bad foot pain and plantar fas, I put these shoes on and was able to exercise without too much pain, they are good for walk/running for about 3miles. After they got broke in I noticed the pain creeping back in on my left foot, it was the soc fit in the shoe that was irritating my ankle/heel , if they would take that out, the shoe would be a10! right now its a 8 for me. I love the stylishness, got a lot of complements!
Review 34 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Detroit, Michigan
Age: 53
Size and Width purchased: 8M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

I especially like the fit of this shoe. It feels great!

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
I am extremely pleased with the way the Hurricane 14 feels on my feet. It is comfortable and offers the support I need. I have sensitive feet and not all shoes work for me. I would easily purchase this shoe again.
I have not had these shoes long enough to comment on durability.
Review 35 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Old Tappan, NJ
Age: 37
Size and Width purchased: 8M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Blisters!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I am a huge Saucony fan. I have been running in the Hurricane since the 7th series without a problem. I laced the 14's up and headed out for my daily run. About 3 miles into my run, my feet were in agony. Stubbornly, I have been running in these shoes for three weeks, certain the blisters that appeared on my feet daily were from something else. I am sad to say I am going to return them. Fifteen years of running and never once a blister until now. Please bring back the 13's.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Franconia, NH
Age: 55
Size and Width purchased: 9 medium
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

great fit

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Walking
fast delivery, great fit and light weight lite running, all purpose shoe. the colors are fantastic!
Review 37 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 32
Size and Width purchased: 8
Gender:Female

A crushing disappointment

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
I Run: For fun, To set a personal best
I waited for this shoe. No, really, I did. I watched the website for it and actually counted down the days for this shoe, like a kid waiting for Christmas. I was head-over-heels in love with the Hurricane 13, so, naturally, I assumed the 14 would be the same experience. Since my 13s were nearly dead, I bought these pretty close to when they were released, and went out on a short run the next morning, excited about new shoes and to see how they would perform.
Boy was I wrong. Everything about this shoe was a heartbreaking disappointment. I could tell immediately when I put them on that something was gravely wrong. They took most of the arch-support out for some unknown reason, a move which probably leaves it hovering just on the edge of what can and can't be termed a stability shoe. Yes, they made it lighter, even though there really wasn't a need for it to be lighter, so, that's... something, I guess. The cushioning seems to have been moved around from the sole of the shoe, where you want it most, up to the back of the heel, which probably makes sense to some shoe designer somewhere, but it certainly leaves me baffled. The colors are nice, but the colors don't really matter to me since the over-all feel of the shoe is just cheap and flimsy. Even the laces feel cheap, like someone took worn out elastic and threaded it through the eyelets.
By the end of the first mile in my three mile test run, I'd decided that these shoes were going back to the store that same day. By the end of mile three, I had developed shin splints, which I'm still battling more than three months later. I've spent the last three months searching for a shoe that could be comparable to the Hurricane 13, and I've found one in a different brand that sort of works, but isn't as good.
Needless to say, I was heart-broken over the fact that they'd taken the Hurricane 13, which I loved so dearly, and made it into this really awful, half-baked shoe that bears virtually no resemblance to the 13.
If you liked the 13s, liked the cushioning, stability and support they gave, and the quality they were constructed with, you'll be disappointed with the 14s. If you're looking for a new pair of shoes with all those qualities I just mentioned and you're looking at the Hurricane 14, my advice is to keep looking.
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Oak Park, IL
Age: 65
Size and Width purchased: 7W
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

I will buy another one of these.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I love the fit. The last Hurricane was too narrow. The Hurricanes before that fit very well. The 14 is the most flexable Hurricane I have ever had. It makes me want to move faster. Thank you.
Review 39 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Customer avatar
From: fishers IN
Age: 37
Size and Width purchased: 10.5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

saucony 14

PostedAugust 16, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I really liked the Saucony 13 and was so disappointed in all the changes they made. Why drop the heel height? I would email customer service but not sure that would help. Last years shoe was awesome and I went to get another pair only to find they didn't have my size. I now have a shoe that is a 1/2 size bigger and I have to work 2x as hard to run the same pace. I am feeling pain over my right 3-4 metatarsal heads(forefoot) and occasional knee pain. I had no pain with my previous shoes. Not sure if I will continue buying Saucony after this year, After 8 years I might have to switch to another brand.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lottie
Lake Wales FL
Agree with Jen from Fishers IN
Posted August 19, 2012
I too loved Hurrican 13, I went with the new "improved" Hurricane 14 and really didn't enjoy it....I did send mine back and took the Triumph and really haven't enjoyed my run. I am very disappointed in Saucony's changes....When it works, don't change it!
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 40 for Women's Hurricane 14
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Orwigsburg, PA
Age: 40
Size and Width purchased: 9.5
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Hurricane

PostedAugust 13, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear
I started running 9 years ago with the goal of running one 5K. I was running as Filly/Athena (women 150+). The first pair of running shoes I bought were the cheapest pair on sale at the sporting goods store. When it came time to buy the next pair I went to a real running store and the model had changed, I didn't like it. So the sales woman helped me try on every shoe in the store, I walked away with the Hurrican 7.
Since that day I only wear the Hurricane model. Several times I have gone back, as my running has improved, and tried on other models recomended by the sales staff. I always walk away with the Hurricanes, and when they are on sale I stock up. I love this shoe and can't imagine running in anything else. I just recently went from 167lb to 145 lb. I am no longer a Filly, but at 5'8" tall a bigger runner. I have run over 150 races from 5ks, 5 milers, 10 milers and a half marathon and the only running shoe I wear is the Saucony Hurricane.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Posted August 29, 2012
I loved the Hurricane 13 so I was excited to but the 14. When I tried the shoes on I noticed immediately that the heel was lower. I am now in the market for a new show and brand.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 Next>>