Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Men's Guide 5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Men's Guide 5

RUN - Light Stability Saucony’s go-to training shoe for runners seeking lightweight stability, the Guide 5 arrives a full 1.5 oz./40 gm lighter than its predecessor version! ProGrid™ foam running from heel to toe provides the ideal blend of cushion and responsiveness, and an 8mm offset encourages a smooth transition with less impact. Weight: 10.2 oz. / 289 gm. See the updates to the Guide 5 (PDF) See the Women's Guide 5
Overall Rating:
4.569 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
54 out of 60(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Guide 5
Review 1 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Colorado
Age: 33
Size and Width purchased: 12.5
Gender:Male

Caution: narrow shoe

PostedJune 20, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
This shoe is visibly narrower than the prior Guide. Holding the two models, sole-to-sole, there is a significant difference. I tried them on the treadmill and got a nasty blister after 400 meters! Why do they always change the last between models? I buy a shoe to run in; fit is ALL I care about. This shoe does not fit because it is a completely shoe than it's predecessor. (Now I have to pay to ship it back. Lovely.)
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Washington, DC
Age: 51
Size and Width purchased: 11M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Guide 5 the one & only running shoes

PostedMay 9, 2013
I Run: Competitively, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I ordered these for a friend. He says these are the best shoes for running. He has an old pair of Guide 5 but wanted another since he bought the Guide 6 and did not like them. He is talking about getting another pair to run a marathon in this fall. He loves the shoes and don't want to buy or wear any other running shoes.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Florida
Age: 53
Size and Width purchased: 10M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Purchased this product based on a magazine review-very satisfied.

PostedApril 30, 2013
I Run: To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Walking
Read Mens Journal article which reviewed "best athletic shoes".
This was a gift for my husband. He had never tried the shoe. He is very happy with them. Great arch support, and very light. We cannot comment on durability because he's only had them a few days, but the overall appearance is a very well crafted shoe that will perform as promised.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: Pitt Meadows, BC
Age: 50
Size and Width purchased: 13M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe!

PostedApril 22, 2013
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Walking
Bought one pair initially to power walk; they fit so well and provide a lot of support. Super comfortable shoe. Have now purchased two additional pairs.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: New York
Age: 20
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best sneaker for long distance running!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
The Guide Five is the perfect fit for the milage I run. I tried the latest Saucony, but they did not have the support of the Guide 5. I had to research where to find the Guide 5, not in stock at stores! When I found them on line I ordered 2 pairs!!! Don't know what I will do if I can't find the Guide 5 in the near future!
I'm a long distance runner and put in a lot of mileage weekly! I need the support of the Guide 5, otherwise I have hip, knee, or ankle pain.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar

Good Shoe, kept up with training.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
I started out my freshman year of XC with these shoes. Right away they felt great. For 5 mile runs they held me together, and gave me nothing more than a good run. I felt that the shoe was to wide, but it could have just been my foot. It was very breathable, and lased well. I was able to get 350 miles on these things until I switched out to the Guide 6. These were an enjoyable pair of shoes for me, and I hope Saucony keeps the good shoes coming.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Norfolk, VA
Age: 52
Size and Width purchased: 14 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Switched from Grid Omni

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
I didn't rate the durability because I just got these and have only about 10 miles on them so far. They feel comfortable and they are a little lighter than the grid Omni.
Delivery was very quick and product is as expected... nice.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
myk
paranaque, philippines
i love my saucony guide 5 (royal/citron)
Posted April 23, 2013
finally i found a best running shoe in the world. after 3 test run of my new saucony guide 5 i found-out that indeed this is one of the best running shoes in the world ever made. you got the best shoes in the very affordable price in the store. all those reviews posted in the runners world magazines and you tube are very true. definitely recommend this shoes to all my fellow runners out there in whole wide world. put this pair of shoes in your running shoes collection.
thank you so much saucony!
probably im going to start collecting saucony running shoes products...
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Knoxville, TN
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 10M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great shoe for the cost

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
I Run: For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
This shoe gives me the stability and cushioning I need. It was immediately apparent from my 1st long run that quality gear makes a world of difference. I had been wearing 2-year-old, worn out Sauconys and was long overdue. My 8-mile trek averaged 9 minute miles. For me, that's vast improvement. No soreness in feet or legs. Great stability-I weigh over 200 pounds. Highly recommend this shoe and any Saucony product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Coppell, TX
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

This shoe is ok but need to give it more time...

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I need to run some more using this shoe to see how well it performs over the long run. Initially it took awhile to break it in and my knee hurt but it seem to be settling in. Maybe I will give it 5 Stars if it performs according to my expectations and I hope so!! Not a bad shoe, though.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Greensboro, NC
Age: 50
Size and Width purchased: 10M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great runner's shoe

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training, Racing
I started running at the end of August 2012 to get back in shape. I gradually increased the distance I was running. I had a competitors running shoe at the time and my ankles and feet were always sore when I finished my run. I went to a store that specializes in running and they had me try on seven pairs of shoes from seven manufacturers. The Saucony Guide 5's felt like they had been made for my foot, plus they had more support in the mid-sole. When I started running I was going 1.6 miles each outing. I am now up to 5+ miles each outing and training for a 10K. I have already bought a second pair of the exact same shoe, so that when I wear the first pair out I can move right into the same fit. I mainly run at night, so the ViZiPRO Orange / Citron / Blue is excellent for being seen. I love my Guide 5's!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 17
Size and Width purchased: 9
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Awesome pair of shoes

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
This shoes are great, for running, hang out or pretty much anything. Great looking, actually better than how it appears on the picture. I totally recommend it to everyone!!!!
 
Products Related to My Review
Men's Guide 5
4.6 out of 5(65)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 12 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Dover, NH
Age: 28
Size and Width purchased: 10W
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Good Sneaker

PostedDecember 27, 2012
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
These sneakers are old dependables, and I say that in a good way. They are a simple, yet sturdy sneaker. I would highly recommend them.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Flagstaff, AZ
Age: 44
Size and Width purchased: 10M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great shoe

PostedNovember 29, 2012
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
I bought these for my husband when his old running shoes were wearing out. He loved them from the first wear!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Medical Lake, WA
Age: 41
Size and Width purchased: 10 1/2
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

This is simply a great shoe

PostedNovember 22, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I started running this past summer to to get in shape. I started out in a competitors running shoe and got shin splints after the first week. I bought the Guide 5 after trying out 4 other brands as they were they best fit and feel for my foot. I can tell you, after losing 36 lbs and never a hint of shin splints again, I will never buy another shoe. This is a comfortable, durable, and stylish shoe. My son runs cross country for school and all of his teammates love/want my Guide 5's!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoes

PostedNovember 13, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Racing, Walking
Love these shoes and hope they stick around for a while!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: MI
Age: 21
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe

PostedNovember 6, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Great Running Shoe. Tried it on at Playmakers Local Store in my town. Fit Great Bought that size on here. Went for a couple runs felt like Air.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: St. George, Utah.
Age: 31
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Tough yet comfortable.

PostedNovember 1, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Love the Guide 5 shoes. They are extremely comfy and durable. I've worn them in a few marathons and two Ironman's . I do most of my training on trails in rocky southern Utah and the shoes are still going and very supportive. Finally, running shoes are coming in colors besides white! All in all, great shoes and I'm sticking with Saucony.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
No, I do not recommend this product.

Pinched foot.

PostedOctober 22, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Did not like this shoe at all. I liked the look of them, put them on and as soon as I waked out the door it started pinching my foot across the toes. I have purchased guide 3 and 4's and silly me assumed there hadn't been much of a change in the shoe. I had to return them and managed to find a pair of guide 3's online. I will be looking into other styles of Saucony. I know styles change but if you have a good thing don't mess with it. There are several companies that make shoes ya know. Runners are weird about there shoes. If it is a money maker to change it so we buy up the leftovers that's lame.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: NYC
Age: 46
Size and Width purchased: 9
Gender:Male

back ache, feel low, not very stable

PostedOctober 20, 2012
I Run: Not at all
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
I don't run so I can say how they perform in that role. I use these as walk around comfort shoes, as I always do with Saucony shoes. These shoes made my back ache. I am not sure if the aching is do to the lower 8mm heel toe drop or their cushioned softness or because they feel less stable. I have a feeling it is due to a combination of all of this. I had read reviews of this shoe before buying that said they felt like neutral shoes. IMO, they actually do, which is not a good thing when you are looking for some stability. The front of the shoe was also tight for me. They have a weird upper design.
On the plus side I think they look OK and they are softly cushioned if you like that. They do seem like a quality product.
I do think Saucony is making a mistake changing all their models over to an 8mm heel toe drop. I think perhaps it might be better to make a model have this and leave the other shoes alone as they were are they worked fine before. I have many friends who use Saucony as walking shoes (I bet this is a large consumer base for them) and not one of them has liked the guide 5 or ride 5. Same complaint. Uncomfortable and different fit. Once the old stock on these older 12mm shoes is sold out, Saucony stands to lose a lot of customers.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Guide 5
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Carteret NJ
Age: 37
Size and Width purchased: 7.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great running shoe

PostedOctober 5, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Shoes are light and have great support.Reduced shin splints from day one.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>