Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Men's Cortana

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Men's Cortana

RUN - Neutral The award-winning Cortana isn‘t much for tradeoffs between soft and responsive. Winner of "Best Debut" from Runner's World Magazine, September 2011; "Best New Shoe" in Running Network's 2011 Fall Shoe Review; "Gear of the Year" from Outside Buyer's Guide, Winter 2011-2012. Built with just a touch of guidance, full-length PowerGrid™ technology of the Cortana provides superior cushioning and the 4mm heel-to-toe offset provides a super-responsive, close-to-the-road ride. Sauc-Fit™ proprietary fit technology guarantees the shoe will hug your foot throughout the gait cycle. Weight: 10.7 oz. / 286 gm. See Women's Cortana
Overall Rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 out of 37(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Cortana
Review 1 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Connell, WA
Age: 18
Size and Width purchased: Size 13
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe

PostedApril 17, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
When i bought these shoes I wanted something that was durable enough to hold up on the rougher roads in my area and these shoes do not disappoint. The blown rubber sole is holding up better than I thought they would. My legs still feel good after my longer runs and not left in shambles like other shoes that I have tried in the past by different companies. I would definitely recommend these shoes for some one who is looking to crossover from a heel strike to a mid-foot strike and is looking for more durability. The one downside to these shoes is that the Saucony logo has started to peel off at the corners. Other than that I can find no other flaws in these shoes.
Review 2 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Nashville Tennessee
Age: 56
Size and Width purchased: 13, regular
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Very nice shoe

PostedApril 6, 2013
I Run: Competitively, For fun
I Use This Product For: Running
This shoe has a very nice feel. It is both fast and comfortable. By fast I mean that it does not feel clunky or heavy. There is a nice road feel. Yet there is enough cushion to keep you safe from the jarring that occurs in minimal shoes. Also, the heel is very snug which I like. Unlike most shoes I cannot just use the toes of one foot to push down on the heel of the other to remove them. They have to be untied. The colors are attractive. Can't really say much about durability as I have only worn them for three runs. All in all these are very nice shoes. Being unfamiliar with this model, I picked up last years version in order to pay less. If they hold up I will probably purchase another pair. My rating may be skewed. In order to get five stars, they would have to do the run for me!
Review 3 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great upper

PostedApril 3, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
This shoe has one of the best uppers you'll ever find, a nice wide toebox, and responsive midsole material. Overall, a very, very good long run shoe. But, c'mon Saucony, who are you designing these for?..adult runners or pre-school kids? Get rid of the hideous color-fade. Get rid of the glitter sparkle. Get rid of the thick, bulbous, plastic logo on the outside of the shoe. You don't need to dress this shoe up like a hooker to justify the price tag...some of us actually make purchases based on performance (and in spite of bad looks). Also, please use this upper on other models, like the Mirage.
Review 4 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 17
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Finally Found My Shoe

PostedMarch 26, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
After switching from football to cross country I've had to try out plenty of different shoes. Many injuries have crept up on me; most likely due to using the wrong type of shoe. I am definitely a heavy toe striker and this shoe works great. I like that it's not for super overpronated people or overly supinated people. It's pretty neutral and just feels right. I am not one to normally review any type of product, but I felt extremely compelled to because of the success that I've had with this product. Out of all the sauconys that I've tried, the cortana takes both the mirage and the kinvara. Wicked shoe.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Staten Island, NY
Age: 37
Size and Width purchased: 9.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best sneaker ever.

PostedMarch 14, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
This is by far the best sneaker I've ever had. I purchased the original Cortanas when they first became available and I still use them, and I did quite a bit of running in them. I walk about 4 miles per day (with the dog), and I'm walking on trails, gravel, concrete, and sand. The sneakers are extremely comfortable on all surfaces. They proved to be very durable over time. Here are my complaints: the tongue slips off to the side. I wish there was an eyelet in the tongue so it can be held in place with the laces (but that might not work). My pinky toes eventually created small holes in the material, but this took a while. It's important to me to have supportive, comfortable sneakers, and these are the best so far! Please don't change them. --Ryan
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Houston, TX
Age: 44
Size and Width purchased: 9
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

The jury is out.

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I started running in the Kinvaras about a year ago. Fantastic shoe! As my mileage has increased, I wanted a shoe with more cushioning but the same basic characteristics of the Kinvara (low drop, emphasis on fore foot strike) to work in the rotation for higher mile days.
It is immediately apparent the Cortana offers more cushion, but I begin to feel pain in the shins around the 5 or 6 mile mark (never happened with the Kinvara). I have measured the drop and it seems spot on with the Kinvaras. Since this is my first pair of Cortanas, I intend to keep them in the rotation just to see if I require an acclimation period.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Annapolis
Age: 52
Size and Width purchased: 9.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

4th Pair

PostedNovember 26, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
This is my 4th pair of Cortana's and they feel just as great at the 1st pair. I tried the Kinvara and they were a little too low to the ground for me. For some additional padding, I use a Lynco insert.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Greenville, SC
Age: 53
Size and Width purchased: 12.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Excellent Trainer to Accompany Kinvara

PostedNovember 8, 2012
I Run: For fun, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
Train in the Cortana & save the Kinvara for fast days and races. They have a very similar fit and feel. Flexible, just the right amount of cushioning, and the same 4mm drop. It's sole lasts a lot longer than the Kinvara though, which is good if you don't have a well stocked Kinvara dispenser in your gear closet. It would be better if the Cortana was even more durable, but it's still a great shoe.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Aurora, Il
Age: 37
Size and Width purchased: 10.5, normal width
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

solid trainning shoe

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I am a mid-foot striker and generally like lighter minmialist shoes. But always want a pair of cusionier training shoes with low heel-to-toe drops for recover runs. The Cortana is exactly that, the ride is really soft but pretty heavy. The outter sole is more durable than all the Sauncony minimalist shoes. It fits fairly well from the shoe box to the heel. roomy yet still snuggle. It's perfect for a mid-distance run after speed work or long runs, where you just want to give your feet and legs a break. I will probably never race in these, because it is a little "overweight".
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Germany
Age: 31
Size and Width purchased: 9.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Awesomeness on your feet!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I first fell in love with this shoe after buying a pair from a running store over here in Germany. They felt like they were made specifically for my feet. Everything was perfect about them; the feel of the road, the comfort, and what felt like almost no break-in period. I have to say though, I bought a pair from the States and they feel a bit different; a little more firm and a bit narrower. Overall, I love the ones I got here in Germany and will eventually get used to the ones I got from the States...I hope.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 42
Size and Width purchased: 12
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

This is a new model

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
I Run: To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Racing, Running
I have always used the Triumph line and am trying these for the first time. Have only ran about 60 miles in them on 5-10 mile runs but they are working well so far. They are very nice looking shoes and I hope they they are as durable as the Triumphs have been for me in the past .
Review 12 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Singapore, Singapore
Age: 48
Size and Width purchased: 9
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Durable trainer for Kinvara lovers

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
I am a Kinvara addict. I have worn the original (x1 pair), version 2 (x2 pairs) and 3 (x2 pairs so far). Though between 1 & 2 and 3 there are substantial differences but such less off-set but still relatively cushy forefoot make me comfortable. HOWEVER, I also had a muscle torn at my calf twice in the last 6 months. I suppose it is because of too much usage of my calves due to so called 'mid-foot' gait cycle with a bit less cushy shoe. And this injury forced me to stay away from running for three weeks. So I went a running shop near by and tried more cushy shoes. I made a comparison between Guide, Ride and Contana. Guide and Ride are identical except the existence of medial support but they seemed bulky, higher heel, which inspired me a future ITB problem. Meanwhile Contana gave me a very similar feel to Kinvara (indeed, it has the same 4mm's drop) yet more 'kind' to your legs including my injured calf. So I do recommend this pair for Kinvara wearers but for easy run or LSD when you are not full of energy or not much confident to do (with Kinvara).
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: San Antonio, TX
Age: 18
Size and Width purchased: 12 D
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Perfect!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
The shoes have a little bit of everything, great cushioning, light, responsive, and the fit is awesome! two thumbs way up! Please never get rid of this shoe and cant wait for the Cortana 2!
Review 14 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Aspen, CO
Age: 24
Size and Width purchased: 13W
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Expensive but worthwhile

PostedJuly 20, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I bought these shoes upon recommendation from a helpful employee at a running store in Aspen, CO. As soon as I put them on, my steps felt lighter and swifter. I wore them out of the store, and 2 years later, I think I'll be using these for the next 2 to 3 years. The top of the shoe, made of mesh, is supportive and durable but will soak if you step in a deep puddle. I only use these shoes for running.
Big pluses: light, no break in time, no injuries
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Tampa, Florida
Age: 18
Size and Width purchased: 13
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best shoe I have owned!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
Before running with the cortana, every pair of shoes I bought would eventually cause shin problems. However because of the lower heel to toe ratio on the cortana that problem has been solved! In fact I have not had any injuries since switching to these shoes a year a go. The only problem is, if you are running heavy miles like myself they typically only last about 300 to 400 miles instead of the expected 500. Other than that, absolutely the best shoe on the market! I actually now every color option for this shoe!
Review 16 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Denver, CO
Age: 28
Size and Width purchased: 10 Regular
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

More support than a minimal shoe, but light and breathable. Unbelieveable Engineering.

PostedJune 12, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
This shoe has everything you want in a long distance runner. It is light, and has great ventilation. There is added support on the sole and the fit is snug. True to size, I have a little bit wider feet and this shoe is the best fit I have ever had. It seems as though the more miles I run the more comfortable the shoe becomes. It is truly a joy to run in these shoes. They allow me to focus on other parts of my training, and enjoy the experience more.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Happy Larry
London
Excellent ride
Posted September 27, 2012
These shoes are such a good ride they just keep going - it doesnt seem to matter how much i thrust into them - they just keep coming back for more. I wish id found these in my 20's when i had the energy to really get inside them.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: missouri
Age: 28
Size and Width purchased: 13/m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

AMAZING

PostedJune 1, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I can feel the road when i run. It feels like the wind can be felt on my feet when running outside
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Age: 20
Size and Width purchased: 11.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe

PostedMay 20, 2012
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
I am a decathlete and I bought this shoe as a trainer and it is amazing. It is great for my longer distance training and my short sprint workouts. I even used this shoes for a few jumps practices. The shoe is durable and it is comfortable. It is the best running shoes I have ever worn. I will never wear another I have been looking for a shoe like this for the past 3 years and it is great for everything I need it to do. It's not too soft or firm but it still gives me a good reaction when I sprint. I will never buy a different shoe.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Boston, MA
Age: 27
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Both shoes are great - highly recommend

PostedApril 27, 2012
I Run: For fun, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I bought this shoe of a recommendation from a Saucony employee (who, like the others i know, is a great person) and I'm glad I followed his advice. The kicks are light, comfortable, have a roomy toe area without sacrificing any foot wrap/support, and look NICE. The heel is a bit lower than other shoes on which I've run, which allows me to get more calf involved with each stride - and since great calves are important to everyone, I'm very happy. The durability is still yet to be fully tested as I only have about 15 miles on them; however I've owned many other Saucony products and they've all held up very well over time - from use this far, I'm expecting the same from the Cortana's.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Cortana
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Bloomington, MN
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 11 regular
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great lightweight shoe with lots of cushion

PostedApril 13, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Actually found these shoes after loving a pair of Saucony Xodus trail shoes. Running Warehouse's shoe comparison showed that the fit would be similar and the reviews said it had more cushion for running on pavement.
The Cortana really fits my foot well - but with Saucony I always have to go up at least a half size to avoid the toe box being too tight. I use the retaining loop on the tongue and haven't had the same problems as some reviewers with it slipping sideways.
Like my Kinvaras and Xodus, I have to be careful when I run hills to let the heel drop and make contact during my stride. If I stay on my toes (easy to do with the low drop) I will have achilles tendon issues. This is common to all low-drop shoes.
On longer runs the light weight and cushion really help make for happy feet. If you are looking to transition to a low drop for a more natural foot strike without giving up the support and cushion of a traditional road shoe the Cortana is definitely a shoe to try.
 
Products Related to My Review
Men's Kinvara 2
4.7 out of 5(163)
 
 
 
Men's Xodus 2.0
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>