Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop Women or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Women's Hattori

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Women's Hattori

RUN - Neutral Our most minimal and lightweight shoe ever, the Hattori is literally an extension of your foot. Unlike other very minimal shoes, the Hattori’s mitten-like toe box gives your toes room to naturally arch, grip and push off. To further leverage natural toe movement, the sole features a visible flex groove in back of the toes and in front of the metatarsals. The sculpted foam of the sole also includes strategically placed impact cushioning and delivers a slight piston effect without ever compromising natural motion. Weight: 3.8 oz. / 108 gm. See Men’s Hattori
Overall Rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
29 out of 33(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Hattori
Review 1 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
Runs Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: New York, NY
Age: 21
Size and Width purchased: 10
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great, I did my first 26.2 in them!

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I wore these for my first 26.2 and several half marathons. I only have trained in extremely minimalist shoes, like the vibram 5 fingers. I would advise against switching to a shoe this minimalist for distance running if you're not used to that much impact, but for me it's great and the minimalist approach has reduced risk of knee injury for me-critical as an arthritic runner- and my doctor said this mimalist was the way to go. They are super durable- I ran in heavy rain on cobblestone in Luxembourg, in the AZ desert and NYC snow, and they held up well! Also unlike shoes like the vibram 5 fingers, they allow for natural flex of the foot without isolating the toes, and do have a bit of protection for your foot against the road.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 57
Size and Width purchased: size 7
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

this shoe is so easy to wear for workouts love it

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
I Run: For fun
I Use This Product For: Cross Training
After having dislocated my second toe off of foot and then surgery, this is the only workout shoe other than hiking I am able to wear. i don't run much anymore, but use this shoe at the gym. i will need to order before it goes out of style.
Review 3 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Wide
Customer avatar
From: Falls Church VA
Age: 56
Size and Width purchased: 8M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

great shoe!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
This is the most comfortable running shoe I have ever worn and I have terrible feet - bunions.
When I first got them, I wore them for everything, around the house, boating, walking, working. Then they got sweaty, because I didn't use socks with them. Then I put them in the washing machine and they shrunk. :( And then they got uncomfortable.
I'm about to buy another pair, but bigger so my winter socks can fit in them. And this pair won't get the washing machine treatment.
Review 4 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Panama City Beach, FL
Age: 75
Size and Width purchased: 7
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

I'm enjoying this product.

PostedOctober 29, 2012
I Run: Not at all
My only problem with this product is that it they are hard to get on. I have a high instep, so this may be a problem, too. I ordered a size larger than what I normally wear and the shoes fit well, once I get them on. They feel great and I am very pleased with my purchase. I wear them in my exercise class.
Review 5 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Woodland Park, CO
Age: 56
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love the fit and feel

PostedOctober 9, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training, Walking
Thank goodness I read another review and ordered a 1/2 size bigger. It was the perfect fit. I like this shoe better than my other natural running shoe since I no longer feel every little pebble but still feel my feet working. Not sure what I'll do with winter quickly approaching. I prefer the velcro over laces.
Review 6 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar

Runs Very Small

PostedOctober 4, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
I ordered 2 pair of the Hattori's, 1 women's and 1 men's. Both my husband and I were shocked at how small they ran. He has a high arch and could NOT even get the shoe on. I ordered a half size bigger based on other reviews, and my big toe was still right up against the front edge of the shoe. We are returning both pairs.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Boonlai
Colorado
More explaination?
Posted October 9, 2012
It's recommended that you order a size larger than you normally would and it's not recommended for high arch people. It's a neutral shoe. I'm just letting you know that everything you didn't like about the shoe is written with the shoe. Maybe if you received them in the correct size it would have made a difference.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Baton Rouge
Age: 46
Size and Width purchased: 8.5 (
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

I have 7 pairs!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training, Racing
I run about 25 miles a week and I love this shoe. I have run 2 I/2 marathons in them as well. Highly recommend this shoe.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Atlanta
Age: 62
Size and Width purchased: 71/2
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

great design

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
I Run: To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Casual Wear, Walking
Actually this shoe runs 1 size and 1/2 short. I wear a 6 1/2 purchased 71/2, however, could have gotten a size 8! Otherwise, I love the design and they are so lightweight. I could wear them all day.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Large
Customer avatar
From: New Jersey
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Never going back...

PostedJuly 31, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
I LOVE these sneakers! It's improved my running, my feet feel great and they are super comfortable!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Customer avatar
From: Miami Beach, FL
Age: 42
Size and Width purchased: 40m
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great shoe - better than Vibram five fingers

PostedJune 24, 2012
I Run: For fun, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
Ive been doing barefoot running and minimal running for over a year now. I have a pair of Vibrams, a pair of New Balance Minimus, and a pair of these. The Hattoris are my go to shoe most of the time. I also box and recently wore them sparring instead of my boxing shoes and they were awesome! I wish they made a high top version I could wear legally in the ring. They feel very natural. In the end I don't like the toe separation of the Vibrams. I still use my Minimus for the rugged trails. I'm hoping a rugged soled version of the Hattoris might be in the works! They do seem to run a half size small. I'm normally a 39 but the size 40 fit me best.
 
Products Related to My Review
Women's Hattori
4.3 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: South Jersey
Age: 30
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love them but small

PostedMay 27, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Walking
I absolutely love this shoe to run in. Feels like running bare foot but with support. I read the reviews before purchasing this shoe and ordered a size 9. I am normally an 8.5. I wish I had ordered a 9.5 though. For me they are running a full size small and i'm worried that will effect the durability of them. I've been using them for 2 weeks and so far so good. Hopefully they will hold up b/c they truly are the most comfortable running shoe i've ever owned.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
runner453
by far the best shoe!
Posted August 7, 2012
THE most comfortable athletic shoe i have ever worn!
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
ad86
Fond du Lac, WI
Love these shoes!
Posted June 8, 2012
I love love love these shoes!! I am a size eight and they fit just right without socks. If you like to run with socks, get the next size up. I'm wondering if it they will hold up as aqua socks also. Please let me know if you know of anyone that has worn them in water and what the results were. Thanks.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 12 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: toronto, on
Age: 22
Size and Width purchased: 8
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Mesh on top rips easily

PostedApril 26, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
The reason I love this shoe is because it is so lightweight and fun to run in! It is like running barefoot without having to worry about stepping on glass or something sharp. The reason I won't recommend buying this particular model is because of the meshwork on the top- it tears very easily. Right now my big toe is visible through the mesh because it has ripped. I've only had these shoes since september and I don't run every single week, so for someone who is running multiple times a week, looking to pay this much money for a shoe that's going to last, I would suggest looking at something else! If you are looking for a minimalist shoe, I would choose something with a bit more to it along the toe line, otherwise you may be ripping a hole through the mesh too!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Ontario
Age: 34
Size and Width purchased: 8M
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Weak Uppers

PostedApril 17, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I bought this shoe and absolutely loved it until about a month after. There were holes from my toes. I returned them to the store and they relplaced them, thank goodness. I was hoping it was just a defect because I truly loved to run in these. Unfortunately, the exact same thing happened and I returned the shoes again and switched to another barefoot shoe hoping that it is more durable. Too bad!! Super comfy and light but I can't afford to buy a new pair every month!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mear bear
Virginia
suggest using a quater size swatch of 'shoe goo'
Posted July 24, 2012
overr he big toe area to avoid rips - works great! - tjhese are also great for the beach when you do not want to be barefoot - keep the sand out.. auy a size larger than you normally would as they run small. I wear a 7.5 street shoe and the size 9 is just righ...t
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Houston, TX
Age: 25
Size and Width purchased: 6
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe, Not Disappointed!

PostedApril 4, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I just received these yesterday, and the first thing I noticed was how cool they looked! :). A mix of water shoe and street shoe. The color was great, the sole looked just right, exactly what I expected. The material on top is really nice- stretchy but sturdy. The only issue I had is the size. I'm a 5.5, but I ordered a 6 after reading the reviews. I'm glad I did, because it is quite a snug fit! But the difference is size is not enough to warrant an exchange. They'll stretch :)
I took these babies for a spin with a quick 1.5 mile run, just to ease into them, as they are my first minimalist pair of running shoes. I expected a lot of calf pain this morning, due to the change in foot strike, but I feel great! I look forward to my runs with these. Definitely would recommend.
Review 15 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Chicago
Age: 36
Size and Width purchased: 11M
Gender:Female

Excellent, but runs small

PostedMarch 23, 2012
I Run: For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
These might be the best minimalist shoes I've ever had. The weight is terrific; the soles let you feel and respond to the terrain; the velcro means you never have to stop and retie. And when I wear these, my pace is consistently faster--which isn't the only reason to go minimalist, but it never hurts.
As far as the length goes...I'm a 10-10.5 in street shoes, so I run in 11s, and a Saucony 11 has been my go-to running size for years. I got these in an 11. The size is okay on shorter runs or without socks. But after 5 miles, there was no room in the toebox, to the point that the pressure on my toes was getting painful. That doesn't happen in my size-11 Kinvaras or Rides. So, my next pair of Hattoris will be an 11.5 (and oh, thank you, THANK you, Saucony, for providing half sizes above 10) or a 12. But there will definitely be a next pair.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Kansas
Age: 36
Size and Width purchased: 7M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

My favorite running shoe of all time!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing, Walking
This shoe has it all - lightweight, comfortable, and durable!
I've been running marathons for 12 years and have tried almost every type shoe out there. I've mostly run in stability shoes since I overpronate on one foot, but after dealing with various foot and hip injuries for several years, I was about ready to give up on running shoes and go barefoot. A friend recommended trying the Hattoris and I'm so glad I did. I tried the Vibrams but couldn't stand the toe separation. I also have a high instep and the velcro top on this shoe is perfect for me.
Like all my other running shoes, I go up a size on these, from 6 to 7 and I'm able to wear thin running socks. I see comments about the toe box being narrow and people not sure about the durability. I have an average size toe box and these fit just fine. I also logged over 400 miles in my last pair, trained for and ran 2 half marathons and my first pair lasted 6-7 months. I plan to continue training in these over the summer for my fall marathon and first ultra.
I recommend starting with very low mileage if these are your first pair of minimalist shoes. I started with 1 mile and very gradually increased mileage over a month to reduce calf tightness/soreness.
I hope that Saucony continues to make these shoes for a long time, otherwise I just may end up going barefoot!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Cortland, NE
Age: 38
Size and Width purchased: 9
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

My new favorite shoe!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
I Run: For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training
I am so happy I bought these shoes. I took the advice of other reviewers and ordered one size larger than my reg. size and these fit like gloves. The first time I ran in these, I did 15 miles, and had NO pains, blisters, etc. I can't run 3 miles in my other (competitor brand) minimalist shoes without getting blisters. Everyone that has seen me in my shoes asks about them and I can't rave enough about how much I love them. To date, I can't evaluate their durability b/c I haven't had them long enough. Also, I prefer the lower profile colors, so the colors currently available wouldn't be my first choice. But in the end, the performance of this shoe absolutely outweighs the color. I will buy another pair of Hattori when the time comes.
Review 18 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 27
Size and Width purchased: 9m
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

My second pair and I love them.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
I Run: To train for another sport
I Use This Product For: Cross Training
I love how light weight and comfortable these shoes are. I use them for crossfit and love that I'm able to run in them and lift weights. This is my second pair because I had to get them in a different color ;-)
Review 19 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Irvine, CA
Age: 35
Gender:Female

runs too small

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
I Run: Not at all
make sure you order 1 size bigger if you are going to wear socks and if not, probably 1/2 size bigger!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Canberra
Age: 28
Size and Width purchased: 8W
Gender:Female
No, I do not recommend this product.

Mesh tearing apart

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
I Run: To set a personal best, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I just wanted to share that I am very disappointed with my new Hattori. Sure they look great but four 5km runs and the mesh already tearing apart.
It is not just about the look...but the durability!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>