Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop Men or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Men's Hattori

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Men's Hattori

RUN - Neutral Our most minimal and lightweight shoe ever, the Hattori is literally an extension of your foot. Unlike other very minimal shoes, the Hattori’s mitten-like toe box gives your toes room to naturally arch, grip and push off. To further leverage natural toe movement, the sole features a visible flex groove in back of the toes and in front of the metatarsals. The sculpted foam of the sole also includes strategically placed impact cushioning and delivers a slight piston effect without ever compromising natural motion. Weight: 4.4 oz. / 125 gm. See Women’s Hattori
Overall Rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
77 out of 83(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Hattori
Review 1 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: santa fe, nm
Age: 50
Size and Width purchased: 9m
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

The simplicity of this shoe is what makes it great.

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
I Run: For fun
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
Great shoe for re-learning what it feels like to really run naturally. Barely feel them on my feet. Noticed the new version has laces which, I feel, complicates the simplicity. If the design change is because they are difficult to get on initially, why not include a cool shoe horn with the shoe. That's all they need because it's the fact they fit like a glove that makes these shoes feel like they're not there.
Review 2 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar

Great training/running shoe!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
I Run: To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Walking
One of the best training/running minimalist shoes. I use it for running and workouts. I hope they re-continue this style because I prefer the strap over laces.
Review 3 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Florida
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 10.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Excellent Athletic Shoe!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
I Run: For fun, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Cross Training, Running, Casual Wear, Walking
I bought this shoe with some reservations. I was concerned that that woul not be durable and would not provide adequate support. These shoes have provided both and provide just enough protection from pebbles and other road debris. I run as part of a cross training regimen and found these shoes to be excellent for 5K and interval 400 & 800 meter and even trail runs. The light weight and mid-sole/forefoot strike has alleviated some knee pain. I also use them at the gym where the flat, neutral foot position is great for stability when lifting. In short, I am on my second pair because I really don't want to wear anything else - ever.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great All-Around Workout Shoe

PostedOctober 30, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
I have use a number of minimalist shoes to pursue my fitness training, and the Hattoris have been the best overall. I find that (despite my initial reservations) the shoes fit well, stay on during everything from long distance runs to sprints, and protect against smaller road debris should one misstep.
The only issue I have noticed is during workouts that contain a lot of lateral motion; speed skaters come to mind. With these exercises, the shoe tends to slip out of place. That's a minor issue, though, and one easily solved by doing the occasional lateral exercise barefoot.
Review 5 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: San Antonio, TX
Age: 34
Size and Width purchased: 10 1/2
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love this shoe

PostedOctober 10, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I'm a new runner and I started with a pair of NB Minimus, the Hattori being my 2nd pair as the NB were running too narrow for my foot.
This shoe has done a fantastic job for me overall, and the sad part is the moment that I realized this shoe was for me when I went and bought a pair of Brooks Pure Flows to 'treat' myself after doing good in a run, and turns out that my feet were not happy at all with the Pure Flows. So I sadly had to give away/sell those pure flows and just hope that Saucony never discontinues the Hattori because this is my shoe for LIFE !
The only gripe I have about the shoe is how easy the top fabric of the shoe tears and breaks but otherwise it's a fantastic shoe.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Pearl City, HI
Age: 30
Size and Width purchased: 13
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great all-around shoe

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
I run, and crossfit, and this shoe is terrific for both. I will never buy a different shoe. If Saucony decides to discontinue this shoe I'll buy 50 of them so I don't have to worry about finding another shoe.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Virginia Beach, Va.
Age: 56
Size and Width purchased: Men's 11.5, medium
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great running "slipper"!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training, Racing
I say "slipper"because that is exactly what this shoe feels like on your foot! It is comfortable ,lightweight and hugs your foot in all the right places. I love not having laces! I have worn these shoes for speed work, 5ks, half marathons and 16 -20 mile training runs . They work well on flat trails and road. I do confess that I have to wear my orthotics in them but it still does not change the performance. I own 2 pairs and I just ordered 2 more..including the aw hattori which I have yet to test drive.
My only negative comment is that I have to order a mens size 11.5 because the woman's 12 is too small with my inserts.Also the colours could be more stylish. But this is still my favorite running shoe!
Review 8 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Incredible, innovative, excellence.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Racing
I'm 19 and do almost every sport you can imagine. I have a pair of Vibrams they're nice, but once I saw these I knew they wouldn't compare. Luckily I found these for a much cheaper price, but these shoes are incredible and I would easily have paid for full price. I run intensely in these shoes clocking many miles, yet they haven't shown any tear. Not only that, but I use these as a shoe to work and to skateboard in and the sole is still in great condition. I destroyed my nike free's, tore up my first Vibrams, but these shoes seem to last longer than both and I'm shocked and impressed. Great product and will definitely be on the look out for a new upgrade when it comes out.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: New Haven, CT
Age: 53
Size and Width purchased: 11 medium
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

I LOVE this shoe!

PostedAugust 18, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Racing, Walking
I'm writing about my third pair of Hattoris - including one pair of AW's - which should tell you something. High points include light weight, flexibility, comfort and impact absorbtion. I've read reviews that say the soles are too thick to provide adequate road feel but, trust me, you'll feel a sharp rock if that's what you want. These are my go to shoes for any distance up to 10K. Low points? Few and minor. The light colors do show dirt quickly. If you wash them, they take a long time to dry. The soles wear in an odd way compared to a normal shoe. A normal shoe sole simply wears. The Hattori sole "abrades" - sort of like an old style gum eraser. Doesn't seem to effect performance, it just takes some getting used to. Finally, I find it very easy to grab both the velcro closing strap and the bit of velcro it mates to on the shoe when trying to tug the strap open. I managed to partially pull the mating bit off of the shoe and had to stitch it back on. Wouldn't be a problem with the version with laces, but I don't own a pair of these yet. All in all I highly recommend these shoes to any runner wanting to mix some "minimalist" training into their routine.
 
Products Related to My Review
Men's Mirage
4.6 out of 5(58)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: New York
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 12
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Very impressed

PostedAugust 17, 2012
I Run: For fun
I Use This Product For: Running
I bought these to replace a pair of vibram 5 fingers, which I would have never even dreamed of running in. When these shoes arrived I felt compelled to take them for a run around the block and was amazed at the comfort and ease of run.
Review 11 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Customer avatar
From: LA,ca
Age: 29
Size and Width purchased: 11m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

this product has great features

PostedAugust 7, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Walking
I used to jog and trail and sometimes biking..
The shoes that i used doesnt give me much satisfaction and hurts my feet and giving me blister..
But when i used the saucony shoes it gives me satisfaction less pain and specially the blisters..
Ill buy another pair
And their very classy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Virginia Beach VA
Age: 16
Size and Width purchased: 12.5 mens
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Amazing shoe, for minimalist running

PostedAugust 5, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
This shoe is great, i use it as my primary training shoe. I am a competitive XC/track runner and i use these shoes for every run i do that isnt on asphalt. Whether long distances, or short interval work, these shoes perform great. They hug your feet and promote a better running form. They are basically vibrams without the toes, with maybe a (tiny) bit more cushion. they are really fun to use on trail runs due to the incredible flexibility of the shoe. They will take getting used to, and a few weeks should be taken to ease into them, like other minimalist shoes. DO NOT use them on asphalt for extended times, that will destroy your joints. However if you use them correctly they make your feet/legs stronger and are amazing. Expect 200-300 miles on these before they start to wear, depending on the runs you do.
in conclusion they are a great buy, if you want to go minimalist
Also i dont really know how the sizing is, i just go try the shoes on
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Width: 
Runs Narrow
Customer avatar
From: pocatello, idaho
Age: 74
Size and Width purchased: 10 1/2 med
Gender:Male
No, I do not recommend this product.

good features but funs small and was flimsy

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Runs small in size and was not what I expected. Send back for a refund.
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 28
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Awesome shoe for any type of workout.

PostedJuly 10, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Cross Training
After 2 years I finally just purchased my second set of Hattoris. Absolutely awesome shoe, I've used them for running, for the gym, and most recently CrossFit. They're light, comfortable, unique looking, and durable. I've used and abused them, and they've handled it well. I started years ago with Vibrams, switched over to NB Minimus, and ended up on the Hattoris for anything other than trail running. Overall my favorite fitness shoe.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Jacksonville NC
Age: 25
Size and Width purchased: 10.5 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great looks and comfortability

PostedJune 22, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Yoga, Cross Training, Racing
Just got my pair of Hattori shoes today some of the most comfortable shoes I have ever worn. Right away feels like I am walking on a cloud. Takes pressure off my feet, they are just a pleasure to wear. Haven't ran in them yet but tomorrow the road is mine. Very Excited and more than likely will get a couple more pairs.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: St. Petersburg, Russia
Age: 24
Size and Width purchased: 11R
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Pure running, freedom and bigger fatigue in fist week(s)

PostedJune 22, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
My favorite shoes.
Unbelievable freedom of feelings, movement and steps control. Nothing prevent to move my foots as it should move. Hattory is pure running, without any impurities.
However, you should remember, that natural running is new for your body. You don't need to hurry up with migration :)
At first steps better way is using Hattory every other day and don't running a long distances. Listen your body, transfer to Hattory gradually and be ready to more fatigue.
Keep your foots and enjoy pure running!
 
Products Related to My Review
Men's Hattori
4.5 out of 5(88)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: sunny isles
Age: 34
Size and Width purchased: 10.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Just purchased and wore them out of the store.

PostedJune 8, 2012
I Run: To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Yoga, Casual Wear, Cross Training
I just found these in Marshall's for $30 and I LOVE them. Super comfy and barely feel like i'm wearing a shoe at all. I first thought they were a swimming shoe, that's how low profile they are. I am going to pick up another pair on the saucony site in a different cool color.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Edmond, OK
Age: 17
Size and Width purchased: Size 14
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

One Word: "Amazing!!!"

PostedJune 7, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training
The Hattori is the most unique shoe i have ever owned!!! I love everything about it, I feel as if I could do anything in them! Durablilty, Comfort, and Style is 5 Star! I recommend this to everyone, especially Runners, like myself!!
Review 19 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Perfect Comfort and Style!!

PostedJune 4, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Walking
I bought this shoes just a few days ago and I am a forever fan now of this type of shoes...I ussually look for a shoe that I am comfortable in and that I can wear with almost everything!! They are extremely comfortable and match and look great with shorts or pants! I cant wait to get some more!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Hattori
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Portland, ME
Age: 27
Size and Width purchased: 9M
Gender:Male

Great all-around shoe (despite what you might think)

PostedMay 17, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I got these about a month ago and when I put them on they were instantly comfy. This is my first pair of minimalist shoes and I could feel my muscles working differently and some soreness after the first run. I started out only wearing them for road running but have since used them for everything; road, beach, trail, rain, mud. They perform excellently in all conditions except slippery muddy trails (what shoes do?). I wear them without socks they feel great even if they are wet or have sand in them. I couldn't be happier. I bought them on a whim, wanting to try something new. Now they are all I've been running in. I was concerned about how durable they would be with their super-light upper, but so far they have held up and I have kicked some sticks and stuff on the trails. I say based on my experiences give them a try.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>