Saucony Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Saucony
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Men's Mirage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saucony.

Men's Mirage

RUN - Supportive Stability Building on the success of the award winning Kinvara, Saucony invites the mild pronator into the minimalist category with the introduction of the ProGrid Mirage. The addition of a midfoot support bridge provides motion control, while still allowing the runner to enjoy the advantages of a minimalist shoe. • The perfect light trainer for a slight overpronator • Lightweight with great responsiveness • Allows the foot to move through the gait cycle unrestricted • Weight: 8.9 oz
Overall Rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
54 out of 55(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Mirage
Review 1 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1 Size Small
Customer avatar
From: Westminster, CO
Age: 53
Size and Width purchased: 13 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

great stability in lightgweight shoe, BUT

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Had the shoe for about 6 months. Love the fit, comfort, and light weight. However, shoe is already starting to tear along outside of toe area. Soles also look quite worn for about 150-200 miles on them. But another pair before I realized they were tearing apart. Love Saucony, but may look elsewhere for more lightweight and durable shoe.
Review 2 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Florida
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 7M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

This is a good shoe

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I like this shoe allot. I ran my marathon PR in them last fall. I am a light, mid foot/ forefoot striker and the shoes do wear out fairly quickly at my striking point. I like these shoes for the marathon distance but prefer lighter shoes like the kinvara for 1/2 marathons or less.
Review 3 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Statesville, NC
Age: 40
Size and Width purchased: 13M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Awesome shoe but not for heel strikers.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
I Run: For fun, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Bought these after my Jazz 12's were showing their mileage a little. The Mirage is an awesome shoe but as I found out, it's not for heel-strikers due to the short 4mm heel to toe ratio. I was used to the Jazz having a 12mm ratio so I experienced some heel pain after running in the Mirage. Not the shoes fault at all, just how they were designed to perform. There again, it's an awesome shoe and light as heck, just not for me and my running style. I ended up sending them back and I ordered a pair of Ride 4's. They have the "bigger" heel to toe ratio so I will see how they go!
Review 4 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: baltimore, md
Age: 22
Size and Width purchased: 11 1/2
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

everything i expected & more

PostedAugust 20, 2012
I Run: For fun
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear
This shoe is extremely comfortable, and very stylish as well. Highly recommended !!!
Review 5 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Montana
Age: 42
Size and Width purchased: 10
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great light training & racing shoe

PostedAugust 18, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing, Walking
I have run in my Mirage shoes 6 months and put more than 200 miles on them. I will buy another pair soon.
I run 30+ miles a week and rotate a half dozen shoes. I also run in old Grid Ride 2, old Tangents, Kinvaras, Asics Speedstar 4s and some even older models of other brands until they wear out.
These Mirages may be my favorite shoe lately with the last of the Saucony Tangents (which went away in 2010) a close second. I have raced 10ks in them and run up to 14 miles in them and I like them a lot.
I'm still looking for something a bit more cushioned than Mirage or Tangent but less "blocky" than the old Rides and Guides so will try Ride or Guide 4s or 5s this fall.
Review 6 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Age: 17
Size and Width purchased: 11.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love Them

PostedAugust 11, 2012
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
I've had my pair of mirages for about a year now, and I love them. I put 400 miles on mine before they showed signs of wear. I would definately recommend them.
Review 7 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Age: 16
Size and Width purchased: 10.5 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Excellent and versatile shoe!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
I Run: Competitively, For fun, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
The Mirage has probably been my favorite running shoe, and I've been through quite a few different kinds since I've started running. This shoe I thought was great all around. It was light enough for road races and interval work on the track, but also felt comfortable and supportive for long runs and high mileage. I have low arches and the shoes worked well for my feet. I will add that the 4mm offset felt different at first, but after a week that wasn't an issue at all. Overall, this is an excellent shoe if you're looking for a lightweight, supportive and comfortable trainer that can double as a racing shoe. The one negative about the shoe is that it didn't last me too long; a bit over 300 miles is all I got out of them. But I was satisfied for every single one of those miles! Oh, and one more thing: I liked the bright green color very much!!!
Review 8 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Pottsville PA
Age: 49
Size and Width purchased: 12.5 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best running shoes I've used to date .

PostedJune 8, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing
I only have about thirty miles on them , but I really like these shoes . I already ordered another pair , I'm thinking of a third pair . I did a ten mile run last week and I wasn't as sore as I normally am . Compared to the other running shoes I wear these feels like I'm wearing bedroom slippers , but with more cushioning in the sole . The sole absorbs road shock with out bulk . The magic to this running shoe is in the sole .
I hope Saucony keeps making the Mirage as it is .
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Arizona
Age: 20
Size and Width purchased: 12.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

I'm a believer

PostedMay 29, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, Competitively, For fun, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Racing, Walking
This shoe is the best one I have ever worn.
I wouldn't normally babble about my history but it is of note that I'm an athlete and I've never had any shoe loyalty.This shoe solely changed that (npi) I will be sticking with the Saucony Mirages from now on.
ADDITIONALLY- I got this shoe in the recovery process of turf toe (in part probably due to the carelessness of footwear in the past, hindsight 20/20) Stiffer Insoles were not even necessary because of the perfect balance of rigidity to flexibility of the out-sole and this is after 6 months !
Granted I have no idea how the technical aspects work.. I've picked up that I have flatter, narrower feet and a slightly overpronated gait when running from time to time and These shoes have been perfect for me !
It blew me away how comfortable they were to walk, run, and jump on anything from sand to concrete !
Lastly IMO they're gorgeous so that's nice touch :]
Review 10 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Tempe, AZ
Age: 32
Size and Width purchased: 12/m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Just what I wanted

PostedMay 25, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Racing, Walking
I've gone through several different running shoes, not knowing exactly what i needed until i went somewhere and had someone explain to me how me feet are positioned and what type of whoe would be best. After doing my research I ordered the Mirage. I've only put about 20 miles on them so far, but the experience up to this point has bee phenominal... Extremely comfortable. Grants me the cushioning I need and the light weight that i desire. I felt the difference in my stride immediately and now i can run 5-6 miles without having the pains in my knee or ankles, and lower back... this shoe has been perfect. I never though I would be the one to do research on how I run and what type of shoe I needed. I'm glad I did and I'm extremel happy I chose this shoe!
Review 11 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Greenville,SC
Age: 60
Size and Width purchased: 8m
Gender:Male

Great out of the box

PostedMay 2, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
No breaking in - great out of the box. I am pretty much just a treadmill runner and was looking for the right combo of light weight and minimal clunky stability structure. Fits both requirements well. Went through two pairs of Sauconys about 20 years ago, and don't know why I strayed into other brands - glad I came back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width: 
Runs Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Missouri
Age: 51
Size and Width purchased: 8.5
Gender:Male

Nice shoe

PostedApril 16, 2012
I Run: To train for another sport, To set a personal best, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
Just finished a couple of weeks of training and ran a half marathon in it this weekend. I like the weight of the shoe, and the stability, but the toe box is definitly smaller than the Cortana. I didn't notice a lot of difference, but also after long runs, the protation design of the shoe puts a little more strain on your big toe muscles. Meaning, if your not an over pronator, you might feel a little more muscle fatigue on those muscles. The light weight is very nice, and the stability was nice as well. For the cost, it beats the Cortana's, but the toe box of the Cortana's fit my slightly wide foot better.
Review 13 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

really good product.

PostedApril 9, 2012
I Use This Product For: Walking
we were really happy with the quality of the product. nice style too.
Review 14 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Salt Lake City
Age: 47
Size and Width purchased: 10.5
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

It's so light!

PostedApril 8, 2012
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
I have a long narrow foot and this shoe works perfectly for running. It's very lightweight and I hardly feel like I'm wearing shoes and yet they support my foot great. I overpronate horribly and have suffered many injuries and I have finally found a shoe that works!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Philadehia, PA & Chicago, IL
Age: 31
Size and Width purchased: 8.5 Men's
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love

PostedMarch 29, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running, Yoga, Casual Wear, Cross Training, Walking
I am in love with this sneaker. I just bought my second pair a few days ago. It is so light and durable. I have worn them all over the city and even through the mud and muck of Lollapalooza 2011 when in rained all day.
The sneaker is cut low, but not too low ( which seems to be a common trend), I have orthotics from my doctor and I am still able to wear them in these sneakers and not feel like my foot is falling out of the shoe. Also....thank you for making a padded tongue. Thank you for making a REAL padded tongue, I hate those "lightly padded" Sneakers, thank you for for this perfect sneaker!
Please please please never never never stop making this shoe(especially the Green ones)....keep your Kinvara....I will take ProGrid Mirage ANYDAY....EVERYDAY!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Newport News, VA
Age: 66
Size and Width purchased: 11 US
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Favorite Light Weight Shoe

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
I Run: To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
I love my Mirage running shoes. They are light weight and extremely comfortable and the order was received in a very timely manner. Only down side to this shoe is that apparently due to the light weight construction it did not last me the traditional 500 miles before it began to breakdown and I felt it in my knees. Once I ordered the new pair and began using them the knee problems subsided as they usually do. Hope Saucony continues this brand for a long long time. Great shoe Saucony!!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Runs 1/2 Size Large
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great shoe

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
I Run: For fun, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
This shoe is amazing. It seems to combine the best features of minimalist and traditional thinking.
Review 18 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: East granby, ct
Age: 36
Size and Width purchased: 10M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

First minimalist shoe

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
I Run: As a social activity, To train for another sport, To stay in shape
I Use This Product For: Running
It took a couple of runs to get used to and retrain the feet. I have been wearing them now for 4 months and I feel great and look forward to using them in my next triathlon.
 
Products Related to My Review
Ultimate Run Glove II
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Hampton, VA
Age: 26
Size and Width purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best Shoe I've come across in years

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
I Run: Competitively
I Use This Product For: Running
I've been through a ton of different shoes (especially Saucony) over the last few years while training for 9 marathons. The Mirage is the shoe that I ordered 5 extra of just in case it gets discontinued. I should order 20 more.
The shoe is light, and therefore works great for running marathon distances. I rotate them with Hurricanes which makes the Mirage feel like a flat. They are durable, last me over 400 miles each pair (I'm 5'11", 155 lbs) which is more than expected with such a lightly built shoe. They look great, I have 4 different color designs. My favorite Saucony product by far. However, I do like wearing the Reco a ton because it means I'm relaxing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Mirage
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

A perfect semi-minimalist

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
I Run: Competitively, To set a personal best
I Use This Product For: Running
With the 4mm heel-toe drop, this shoe has a fantastic ride, and with the stable cushioning throughout, it's very useful for long runs, while still light enough to be used for longer tempos.
I highly recommend this product - having used many other trainers by many other competitors, I've decided this is the best.
1 2 3 Next>>